Advanced Theater Resources

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

The Actors... by Hirosada (circa 1850)
The Actors... by Hirosada (circa 1850)

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying theater.

This guide focuses on general and advanced reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.


Finding Articles

Databases and Indexes

U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present, including theater history.
A multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
Contains records describing articles in over 1,000 architectural periodicals in the fields of architecture and related disciplines. Includes theater architecture.
An index to more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in over 3400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Cites more than 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books, including individual and collective biographies. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
  • Cumulated Dramatic Index STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .C8 (2 vol., 1909-1949)
An index to articles and illustrations in more than 150 American and British periodicals. Appendices include lists of over 6,500 books about the drama and of about 24,000 play texts published during this period.
Full image of articles from The New York Times, including theater reviews.
Indexes more than 300 humanities publications including feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, and reviews of plays and television and radio programs.
IIPA indexes more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre (1982 to date)
References from books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, conference papers and other documents dealing with any aspect of theatre significant to research--without historical, cultural or geographical limitations.
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years. Three theater journals are indexed in JSTOR.
Full-text national and international newspaper coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics. A good place to find current theater reviews from around the world.
Provides full-text access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature (including drama), languages, linguistics, and folklore. Print version: MLA Bibliography (1921-1994) STROZIER Reference Z 7006 .M64 covers earlier years that are not in the database.
  • Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism (1966-1990) STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .C37
Indexes books and articles on drama, i.e. plays and playwrights (rather than theater--performers and performances). Continues as annual supplements in the journal Modern Drama.
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-). Six theater journals are indexed in MUSE.

Journals

Electronic Journal Resources

Print Journals

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

  • Costume STROZIER Periodicals GT500 .C6
  • Dress STROZIER Periodicals GT500 .D74
  • Essays in Theatre STROZIER Periodicals 790.5 E78
  • Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism STROZIER Periodicals 790.5 J869

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about theater can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on theater will be on the fifth floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on theater. The majority of the 'PN's are on the fifth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.

  • MT 955-956 --- Musical Theater
  • NA 278.T5-6845 --- Fine Arts. Theaters. Architecture.
  • PN 1600-3307 --- Literature (General). Drama.
  • PN 1720-1861 --- Drama. History.
  • PN 2000-3307 --- Dramatic representation. The Theater.
  • PN 2131-2193 --- Dramatic representation. The Theater. By time period.
  • PN 6110.5-6120 --- Collections of General Literature. Drama
  • TK4399.T6, TK7881.9 --- Technology in the Theater.

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • Acting
  • Actors
  • Actresses
  • American drama
  • Costume
  • Costume design
  • Drama
  • Dramatists
  • English drama
  • Musical theater
  • Playwriting
  • Set designers
  • Stage lighting
  • Theater
  • Theater management
  • Theater production and direction
  • Theaters

Names of specific theaters, theater companies, and people also have their own subject headings.

General Reference Works

When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.

Encyclopedias

  • American Theatre Companies STROZIER Reference PN 2297 .A2 A43 (3 vol.)
  • Cambridge Guide to American Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2220 .C35 1993
  • Cambridge Guide to Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .C27 1995
  • International Dictionary of the Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .I49 1992
  • Oxford Companion to the Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .H3 1993
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance STROZIER Reference PH 2035 O94 2003 (2 vol.)
  • Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes STROZIER Reference GT 510 .R3313 1998*
  • Theatre Companies of the World STROZIER Reference PN 2052 .T48 1986 (2 vol.)
  • Theatregoer's Almanac STROZIER Reference PN 2266 .H53 1996
  • World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 1861 .W67 1994 (6 vol.)

Bibliographies

  • American Theatre History: An Annotated Bibliography STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .T25 1992
  • Bibliography of Medieval Drama STROZIER Reference Z 5782 .A2 S8 1972 (2 vol.)
  • Black Theatre and Performance: A Pan-African Bibliography STROZIER Reference Z 5784 .B56 G7 1990
  • British Theatre: A Bibliography 1901 to 1985 STROZIER Reference Z 2014 .D7 C38 1989
  • Catalog of the Theatre and Drama Collections [of the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library]; Supplement; and Bibliographic Guide to Theatre Arts STROZIER Reference Z 5785 .N4; Oversize N4 sup; Oversize N42.
The Catalog is 51 vols., and the Supplement is 4 vols. The Bibliographic Guide is an annual update from 1975 to date.
  • English Theatrical Literature (1559-1900) STROZIER Reference Z 2014 .D7 A74 1970
International Bibliography of Theatre (1982 to date) References from books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, conference papers and other documents dealing with any aspect of theater significant to research--without historical, cultural or geographical limitations.
  • Theatre and Allied Arts: A Guide to Books Dealing with the History, Criticism, and Technic of the Drama and Theatre STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .B18
  • Theatrical Costume: A Guide to Information Sources STROZIER Reference A 5691 .K47
  • United States Theatre: From the Beginning to 1990 STROZIER Reference PN 2221 .Z99 S55 1993

Biographies

  • American Playwrights, 1880-1945 STROZIER Reference PS 351 .A43 1995
  • American Playwrights Since 1945 STROZIER Reference PS 350 .A53 1989
  • American Women Playwrights, 1900-1950 STROZIER PS 338 .W6 S48 1995
  • American Women Playwrights, 1964-1989 STROZIER Reference PS 338 .W6 G38 1993
  • Asian American Playwrights STROZIER Reference PS 338 .A74 LA9 2002
  • Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers, 500 B.C. to 1900 A.D. STROZIER Reference PN 2096 .A1 L33 1990
  • British Playwrights, 1880-1956 STROZIER Reference PR 736 .B7 1996
  • British Playwrights, 1956-1995 STROZIER Reference PR 736 .B75 1996
  • Contemporary American Dramatists STROZIER Reference PS 352 .C65 1994
  • Contemporary Black American Playwrights STROZIER Reference PS 153 ,N5 P43 1988
  • Contemporary British Dramatists STROZIER Reference PR 736 .C577 1994
  • Contemporary Dramatists STROZIER Reference PR 737 ,C57 1999
  • Contemporary Women Dramatists STROZIER Reference PR 736 .C58 1994
  • Costume Design on Broadway: Designers, 1915-1985 STROZIER Reference PN 2067 .O94 1987
  • The Female Dramatist: Profiles of Women Playwrights from the Middle Ages to Contemporary Times STROZIER PN 471 .P37 1998
  • Lighting Design on Broadway: Designers, 915-1990 STROZIER Reference PN 2091 .E4 O94 1991
  • Scenic Design on Broadway: Designers, 1915-1990 STROZIER Reference PN 2096 .A1 O94 1991
  • Theatrical Designers: An International Biographical Dictionary STROZIER Reference PN 2096 .A1 M54 1992
  • Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary STROZIER Reference PN 2205 .T 54 1994
  • Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976 STROZIER Reference PN 2597 .W52 (4 vol.)
  • Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .W485 2000

Chronologies

  • Chronicle of Western Fashion: From Ancient Times to the Present Day STROZIER Reference GT 511 .P42
  • Chronological Outline of World Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2101 .M47 1992

Criticism and Reviews

  • American Drama Criticism, 1890-1977 and Supplements 1-3, covering 1977-1990 STROZIER Reference Z 1231.D7 P3 1979 and sup.1-sup.3
  • American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late Nineteenth Century Periodicals STROZIER Reference PN 2256 .M37 1984
  • Drama Criticism, v.1(1991)-v.21(2003) STROZIER Reference PN 1601 .D59
  • Drama Criticism, 2 vol. (covers 1940-1964) STROZIER Reference Z 1231 .D7 C6
  • Dramatic Criticism Index (covers to 1971) STROZIER Reference Z5781 .B8
  • European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975 STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .P2 1977
  • Guide to American Drama Explication (covers 1942-1994) STROZIER Reference PS 332 .O84 1995
  • Guide to Critical Reviews, American Drama, 1909-1982 STROZIER Reference Z 5782 .S34 1984 pt.1
  • Guide to Critical Reviews, Foreign Drama, 1909-1977 STROZIER Reference Z 5782 .S34 1973 pt.3
  • Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980 and 1981-1990 STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .C37 1986 and 1997
  • New York Times Theater Reviews (1870-1978, 1981-82, 1985-96, 1999-2000) STROZIER Reference PN 2266.N48 (Also: Historical New York Times database covering 1851 to three years before the current date)

Dictionaries

  • Annotated Dictionary of Technical, Historical, and Stylistic Terms Relating to Theatre and Drama STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .W48 1995
  • Dictionary of Costume STROZIER Reference GT 507 .W5
  • Dictionary of the Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .D52 1988
  • New Penguin Dictionary of the Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2035 .N474 2001

Guides

  • American Drama to 1900: A Guide to Information Sources STROZIER Reference Z 1231 .D7 M45
  • American Theater and Drama Research: An Annotated Guide to Information Sources, 1945-1990 STROZIER Reference Z 1231 .D7S53 1991
  • English Drama and Theatre, 1800-1900: A Guide to Information Sources STROZIER Reference Z 2014 .D7 C72
  • The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature STROZIER Reference PN 1584 .S56 1994 Histories
  • Sourcebook for the Performing Arts: A Directory of Collections, Resources, Scholars, and Critics in Theatre, Film and Television STROZIER Reference PN 2289 .S65 1988
  • Theatre Sources Dot Com: A Complete Guide to Online Theatre and Dance Resources STROZIER Reference PN2052 .C38 2001

Histories

  • African American Theatre Directory, 1816-1960 STROZIER Reference PN 2270 .A35 P48 1997
  • American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1869-2000 4 vol. STROZIER Reference PN 2266 .B6
  • Encyclopedia of the New York Stage 3 vol.: STROZIER Reference PN2277.N5 L36 1985 (1920-1930); STROZIER Reference PN2277.N5 L364 1989 (1930-1940); STROZIER Reference PN2277.N5 L365 1992 (1940-1950)
  • History of World Theater 2 vol. STROZIER Reference PN 2104 .B413 1991
  • London Stage, 1660-1800 and Index STROZIER Reference PN 2592 .L6 pt. 1-5 and STROZIER
  • Reference PN 2592 .L63 S3
  • London Stage, 1890-1959 16 vol. STROZIER Reference PN 2596 .L6 W37 thru STROZIER Reference PN 2596 .L6 W3847
  • Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre STROZIER Reference PN 2111 .O84 1995
  • Survey of Historic Costume STROZIER Reference GT 511 .T67 1989

Indexes to Plays

  • The Drama Scholar's Index to Plays and Filmscripts in Anthologies, Series, and Periodicals 3 vol. STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .S17
  • Index to Plays, 1800-1926 and Supplement (1927-1934) STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .F5, sup
  • Index to Plays in Periodicals (to 1987) STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .K43 1979, 1990
Indexes collections of plays from the late 19th Century through the current year.
  • Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .O8 1988
  • Play Index (1949-2002) STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .P53

Plot Summaries

  • Book of 1000 Plays STROZIER Reference PN 6112.5 .F54 1989
  • Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays STROZIER Reference PN 6112.5 .S45 1984
  • Digests of Great American Plays STROZIER Reference PS 338 .P5 L6 Covers 1766 to 1959.
  • Drury's Guide to Best Plays STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .D8 1987 400B.C. to 1985.
  • Masterplots 12 vol. STROZIER Reference PN 44 .M33 1996
Includes approximately 400 dramas from antiquity to the early 1990's.
  • Masterplots II: Drama Series 4 vol. STROZIER Reference PN 6112.5 .M37 1990 20th century dramas.
  • 20th century dramas. Outlines of Tudor and Stuart Plays, 1497-1642 STROZIER Reference PR 651 .H64
  • 20th Century Plays in Synopsis STROZIER Reference PN 6112.5 .S68

Micromaterials

  • Local and Traditional Costumes in the Victoria and Albert Museum STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 1388
Covers traditional costume world-wide. Indexed by a 41-pg. pamphlet with the same title and under the same call number, but shelved in the Docs/Maps/Micro stacks.
  • New York Theatre: Vandamm Collection: Theater Photographs from 1915 to 1960 STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 887 :Photographs and drawings of productions and people. Indexed by New York Theatre, 1919-1961: Handlist STROZIER Micromaterials Micr Z 5781 .N54
  • Playbills from the Harvard Theatre Collection STROZIER Micromaterials Film 5855 :Playbills from theaters suchas Adelphi, Astley's, Covent Garden, Drury Lane, English Opera House, Globe, Grecian, St. James, etc. Indexed by Theatre Playbills from A Guide STROZIER Micromaterials Micr PN 2594 .T5
  • Shakespeare at Stratford Upon Avon STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 1300
Set and costume design, theatre records, press cuttings, posters, programmes, playbills, photographs; etc. Indexed by 7-vol. guide with the same title. STROZIER Micromaterials Micr PN 2596 .S8 S52
  • Source Materials in the Field of Theatre Film 586
Indexed by Source Materials A Guide STROZIER Micromaterials Micr Z 5781 .S6 and Source Materials An Annotated Bibliography and Subject Index STROZIER Micromaterials Micr Z 5781 .A57 or STROZIER Reference Z 5781 .A47
  • A Survey of Costuming on the New York Commercial Stage STROZIER Micromaterials Film 4125
  • Theatre Costume Design in the Victoria and Albert Museum STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 1016
Indexed by STROZIER Micromaterials Micr PN 2067 .V53

Websites

Directories of Links

Includes links to play texts online.

Associations

Acting/Voice/Stage Combat

Uses native speakers for English language dialects and English spoken in the accents of other languages..
Contains 270 speech samples from different language backgrounds and regions reading the same paragraph.

Awards

Current Theater & Review

Directing

Dramaturgy

History/Theory/Criticism

Click on "Research" or "Collections."

Musical Theater

Playwriting

Technical/State Management

Including Costume, Makeup, Scenery, Lighting, and Sound

Help

  • Theater Liaisons:

Image:Alicia_Korenman.jpg

Alicia Korenman
Humanities Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-0468
akorenman@mailer.fsu.edu

Image:Bill_Modrow.jpg

Bill Modrow
Head, Learning Services
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-1967
wmodrow@mailer.fsu.edu

Views
Personal tools