Anthropology

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact Info

Image:Sarah_Buckkachaluba.jpg

Sarah Buck Kachaluba

Humanities Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-1475

sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu

Introduction

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students of Anthropology. It points to some outstanding and general points to begin inquiry into Anthropology. It lists books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU libraries. Such resources include reference tools and relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials. It is by no means comprehensive, but should help you get started on an international studies research project.

Related Guides

Searching For and Accessing Library Resources

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Project Muse Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-) AIDS & Cancer Research
Literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics from 1982 to present.


Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.


Countries and their Cultures
Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country.


eHRAF (Human Area Relations Files) Collection of Ethnography
A unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world.


Ethnic Newswatch


Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.


JSTOR
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.


Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973-


SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.


Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Click the box next to "Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1956-present" to limit the search to this index.

Finding Books & Media

Library of Congress Classifications

Subject Headings

To search by subject heading, go into "Advanced Search." There are two ways to search by subject heading using the advanced search feature.

The first is to use Option 1: Search by words. Type or paste the subject heading into the search box and select "Subject Heading" from the drop-down menu, then click the Go box. This search will call up a list of books with this subject heading

The second is to use Option 3: Search lists of titles, call numbers, etc. In this case, choose "Subject, LC" from drop-down box and type or paste the subject heading into the search box. This search will yield a list of subject headings that contains the subject heading you searched by, as well as more specific subject headings including the initial phrase.

Reference Works

Atlases and Maps

Map Collection at the University of Texas Austin's Perry-Castaneda Library

Websites

Portals to the World
Site maintained by the library of congress which provides access to links chosen by Library of Congress Subject Specialists. After selecting a country, users can do a general search or browse through links accessed through ne of the following fields: General Resources; Business, Commerce, Economy; Culture; Education; Embassies; Genealogy; Geography and Environment; Government, Politics, Law; Health; History; Language and Literature; Libraries, Archives; Listservs, Newsgroups; Media and Communications; National Security; Organizations; Recreation & Travel; Religion and Philosophy; Search Engines; Science & Technology; Society.

United Nations
There are many ways to use the UN website. Once you have clicked on “welcome,” you can try one of the following options. Go to: 1. “main bodies,” which takes one to a list of UN commissions (in the vertical menu on the left-hand side of the page) 2. “index,” and choose a subject (index is a button on the horizontal menu along the bottom of the screen) 3. “Search,” and type in a search term (search is another button on the horizontal menu along the bottom of the screen)

Views
Personal tools