British History
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
Contact Info
|
Bill Modrow Head, Learning Services Florida State University Libraries 644-1967 |
Head, Special Collections Florida State University Libraries 644-6167 |
Sarah Buck Kachaluba
Humanities Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
645-1475
Introduction
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying British History.
It lists books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU libraries. Such resources include reference tools and relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes (Includes Electronic Databases with Primary and Secondary Source Material)
Americas Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Early American Imprints, Series I, Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw Shoemaker (1801-1819)
(Human Area Relations Files) Collection of Ethnography
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - Digital Edition
Newspapers
The African Herald (Continues as the Sierra Leone Gazette) African Herald; Royal Gazette and Sierra Leone, 1817-1828: Film NP 417
African Times, 1862-1892: Film 1373 Reels 485-499
Bahama Gazette, 1784-1821: Film NP 314
Quebec Gazette, 1764-1817: Film NP 313
Canton Register, 1827-1843: Film NP 263
Canton Press, 1835-1844: Film NP 265
Royal Gazette, 1819-1837: Film NP 315
Chinese Times, 1886-1891: Film NP 258
Chinese Courier, 1832-33: Film NP 264
North China Herald (title varies) 1850-1941: Film NP 65
Peking Daily News, 1909: Film NP 261
Peking Post, 1910: Film NP 262
Peking & Tientsin Times, 1894-1902: Film NP 259
Early English Newspapers, 1620-1840 (analyzed; see guide below): Film NP 407
Daily Advertiser, 1733-1795: Film NP 401
London Gazette, 1665-1800: Film NP 345
St James Chronicles, 1801-1866: Film NP 404
Times (London) and Sunday Times (London):
- Index
- The Times Index is available for 1785 to 1786: Government Documents Micr AI21 T448
- Bailey's Index to the Times is available for 1899-1901: Government Documents Micr AI21 T452
- The Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper is available for 1790-1905, sections of 1906, 1910, sections of 1911, and 1913-1924: Government Documents Micr AI21 T45
- An Index for the Times for the years 1790-1905, 1910, 1913-1914, and 1916-1924, as well as portions of 1911 and 1915 is available on microform: Micromaterials AI21 .T45
- An Index to The Times, The Sunday Times, and supplements for 1906-1980 is available electronically at London Times Index
- Text
- The Text for the Times is available for 1785 to 2003 on Microfilm: Micromaterials: Film NP 12
- The Text for July 1985 to the present is available electronically at London Times
- The Text for the Sunday Times is available for some of 1968 and 1997-2003 on Microfilm: Micromaterials: Film NP 353
- The Text for the Sunday Times from July 1985 to the present is available electronically at Sunday Times
Workers’ Dreadnought, 1914-1924: Film NP 347
Hong Kong, Late Canton Register, 1827-1833: Film NP 263
Daily Advertiser and Shipping Gazette, 1871-1876: Film NP 257
Hong Kong Mercury and Shipping Gazette, 1866: Film NP 255
Bombay Courier, 1793-1821: Film NP 448
Calcutta Gazette, 1793-1816: Film NP 449
Madras Courier, 1791-1812: Film NP 450
Dublin Journal, 1809-1810: Film NP 52
West Africa, 1917-1965: Film NP 47
Hampshire Chronicle (Winchester), 1798-1816: Film NP 48
Hull Packet, 1793-1816: Film NP 49
Morning Chronicle (London), 1801-1815: Film NP 50
Shrewsbury Chronicle, 1797-1815: Film NP 51
Finding Books & Media
Library of Congress Classifications
Subject Headings
Selected Corporate Authors of Importance
Great Britain. War Office. Intelligence Branch.
Great Britain. War Office. Intelligence Division.
Great Britain. Public Record Office.
Great Britain. Board of Trade.
Microform Sets of Primary Sources (If they exist, Guides/Indexes are indicated below each entry)
Annuals (Various Titles) Mif 796-811
- Index: Micr Z2013 B65
English Literary Periodicals, 1681-1914 PR15
- CD-ROM Index to set STROZIER LIBRARY -- Reference -- PN5124.P4 1532 1995
- Index to London Magazine (Reels 79-84) Micr AP4 R53
Early British Periodicals NP268
- Guide and Index-- Micr Z6956.E5 B72 Index Reels 1-902
History of the English Benedictine Congregation, 1558-1850 Mif 486
- Guide-- Micr DA 535 P37 1984
Papers of Sir Thomas Fowell Buxton, 1786-1845 Film 9441
- Guide-- Micr DA 535 P37 1984
Papers of John Cam Hobhouse, 1786-1869 Film 9440
- Guide-- Micr DA536 B75 A3 1987
Repertories of the Court of Aldermen (London) 1495-1835 Film 9393
- Guide-- Micr DA676 C68 pt. 1-2
India in the age of Empire: the Journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) Film 9497
- Guide-- Micr DA475.2 E34 153 1997
John Stuart Mill: the economic, political, and feminist papers (the J.S. Mill, Harriet and Helen Taylor collection from the British Library of Political and Economic Science, London) Film 9331
- Guide-- Micr H59 M54 J64 1988
Home Office Papers and records. Order and authority in England. Public record office class HO 42 Film 9640
- Guide-- Micr DA505 H66 1985
Civil disturbances, Chartism, and riots in 19th century England. Selected from PRO class HO 45 Film 9465
- Guide-- Micr HD8396 C58 1980 pt. 1-2
Home Office Papers and Records. Rewards, pardons and secret service, 1820-1840. Public Record Office class HO 64 Film 9464
- Guide-- Micr DA530 R49 1982
Condition of the English working class: the papers of the Rev. Henry Solly, 1812-1903 Film 9447
- Guide Micr HD8399 E5 E447 1989
Sex research: early literature from statistics to erotica Film 9255
- Guide-- Micr HQ60 S49 1983
Gerritsen collection of women's history, 1543-1945 Film 4256 and Mif 4458
- Guide HQ 1121 G47 1983
Radical and reforming periodicals for and by women:social and political status of women in Britain Film 9302
- Guide-- Micr HQ1593 S62
Women's language and experience, c1500- 1940; women's diaries and related sources Film 9535
- Guide-- HQ1593 W67 pt. 1-3
Anti-slavery collection from the Library of the Society of Friends Film 5870
- Guide-- Micr HT857A52 1978
Shanghai Municipal police files, 1894-1949 Film 9404
- Guide Micr HV7850 S5 G85 1984
Diary of Beatrice Webb, 1873-1943 Mif 557
- Index-- MICR HX243 W4 A73 1978
Helen Blackburn pamphlet collection from Girton College, Cambridge Film 9292
- Guide-- Micr JN979 B57 1987
British trials, 1660-1900 Mif 1821
- Guide-- Micr Kd370 B72 units 1-5
Old Bailey Proceedings Film 9674
- Guide-- Micr KD7865.2 C4 1984
19th century women writers Mif 1397
- Guide-- Micr PR1110 W6 N56
Charles Dickens research collection Film 9309
- Guide-- Micr PR4581 C46 1990
19th century children's literature Film 1460
- Guide-- Micr PZ5 N56
19th century publishing, the book trade, and the diffusion of knowledge Mif 1404
- Guide-- Micr Z279 N56
History of Photography Film 5868 and 5869P
- Guide-- Micr Z7134 H572 1982
Goldsmiths'- Kress Library of economic literature Segment 1. Printed books through 1800--Segment 2. Printed books, 1801-1850--Segment 3. Serials and periodicals. Film 4318
- Guide-- Micr Z7164 E2 G64
Archives of the Fabian Society Film 9195 and Mif 1281
- Guide-- Micr Z7164 S67 A72
Adam Smith References to the Wealth of nations Mif1102
- Guide-- Micr HB161.S668 1980
Great Britain, Foreign Office:China; embassy and consular archives: correspondence, 1834-1930 Film 2170
Great Britain, Prime Minister:Cabinet reports by Prime Ministers to the Crown, 1837-1867. Film 5896
Exploration and colonization of Africa, 1794-1844.Colonial Office Collection nos. CO2 and CO392 Film 5242
- Guide Micr Z 3508.C7 G8
Liverpool, Charles Jenkinson, Earl of, 1727-1808.The Liverpool papers: a selection of material relating to the American colonies and the United States [1727-1828] from the Liverpool Papers in the British Museum, London. Film 3539
British Foreign Office:Russia, correspondence, 1883-1945 Film 4397
- Guides
- 1883-91 - Micr DA47.65 G72
- 1892-1905 - Micr DA47.65.G73
- 1906-1913 - Micr DA47.65 G742
British Foreign Office:Japan correspondence, 1856-1905 Film 2166
- Guide-- Micr DA47.9 J3 B75827
Great Britain Foreign Office:Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, Havana, the Cape of Good Hope, Loana, and New York; and reports from British Vice-Admiralty Courts, and from British Naval officers, relating to the slave trade.(Also called Slave trade, 1858-1892) Film 5244
- Guide Micr Z7164 S6 G84
Records of the Department of State Relating to International Affairs of Great Britain, 1910 - 1929
- STROZIER Micromaterials AE1.119:M580
Print Sets of Primary Sources
British documents on foreign affairs-- repairs and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part 1, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War.
- Series A, Russia, 1859-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY, Subbasement - Ask at Circulation JX632.B74 1983 v. 1-6
- Series B, The Near and Middle East 1856-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY JX632.B745 1984 v.1, v.3-20
- Series C, North America, 1845-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY JX632.B747 1991 v.1-9
- Series D, Latin America, 1845-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY JX632.B747 1991 v. 1-9
- Series E, Asia, 1860-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY JX632.B748 1989 v.1-30
- Series F, Europe, 1848-1914
- remote Storage 2 Ask at Circulation JX632.B7414 1987 v.1-35
- Series G, Africa, 1848-1914
- STROZIER LIBRARY, Subbasement - Ask at Circulation JX632.B769 1995 v.1-25
- Great Britain. Foreign Office. The Affairs of Kuwait, 1896-1905
- STROZIER LIBRARY-- Oversize -- DS247.K87 G73 1971 v. 1-2
- Great Britain. Forigen Office. British and Forigen State papers.
- Remote Storage 2 Ask at Circulation JX103.A3 v.1(1812/14)-v. 166(1976)
- Great Britain. Board of Trade. Journal of the Commissioners for Trade and Plantations.
- STROZIER LIBRARY -- DA25.H55 v.1-4. 7-14
- Complete text available in Film 2802
Center for Research Libraries
Center for Research Libraries - The FSU Libraries participate in this consortium based in Chicago that loans materials for research. Its web site contains extensive online catalogs and lists of materials available for loan (including newspapers on microfilm)
Reference Books and Indexes
Cox, Susan M. Early English Newspapers: Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection.
- STROZIER LIBRARY -Micromaterials- PN5114.C68 1983
Palmegiano, E.M.The British Empire in the Victorian Press, 1832-1867: A Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub, 1987
- STROZIER LIBRARY--Refrence-- Z2021.C7 P32 1987
Ward, William Smith. Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1821-1826: A Bibliography with a Supplementary List of General (non-review) articles on literary subjects. New York: Garland Pub, 1997.
- STROZIER LIBRARY--Refrence-- Z2005.H6
The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900: Tables of contents and identification of contributors, with bibliographies of their articles and stories.
- STROZIER LIBRARY--Reference-- Z2005 .H6
Statistics
Statistical abstract of the United Kingdom
- no.1 (1840/53)-no.83(1924/38) Film 8575
Statistical abstract for the British Empire in each year
- STROZIER LIBRARY--HA1113.A32 First no. (1889/1903)-eleventh no. (1899/1913)
Young, Edward. Labor in Europe and America: a special report on the rates of wages, the cost of subsistence, and the condition of the working classes in Great Britain, Germany, France, Belgium and other countries of Europe, also the Unites States and British America. 1875.
- STROZIER, Documents General Collection--T37.2:L11/2; also STROZIER LIBRARY--hd4853.y6
Trans-Atlantic slave trade: a database on CD-ROM.
- STROZIER, Multimedia Center--CD--HT1322.T74 1999
Websites: Portals to Sources on the Open Net
British Library Newspaper Archive
Internet Modern History Sourcebook:19th Century Britain
Proceedings of the Old Bailey - to 1832
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
British Library Online Gallery
Greenwood's Map of London 1827
This is one of the more detailed and beautiful maps of London produced in the first half of the nineteenth century.
19thc British Census Online
Census records for England and Wales from 1841 to 1911 available online
Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
presents the images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections. Included are a number of trials of the wealthy and renowned such as an account of the adultery trial of Caroline, Queen Consort of George IV, the sodomy trial of Oscar Wilde, and the trial of Harry Thaw for the murder of Stanford White, the famous architect who was Evelyn Nesbit Thaw's lover. The larger part of the collection, however, consists of the stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong or their relationships did not conform to social standards.



