Communication Disorders
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying communication disorders.
This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- ComDisDome (mid-1960s -)
- Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, scholars (authors of books and articles), institutions, and web resources, (with grants to be added soon) in the fields of speech language pathology and audiology.
- Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Related Databases and Indexes
- Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
- Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
- Resources in Education (RIE)
- Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
- Health & Psychosocial Instruments (1985 -)
- Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- PsycInfo (1887 -)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Journals
Electronic Journal Resources
Print Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- American Annals of the Deaf STROZIER Library Periodicals 370.5 A512 and Micromaterials Film PR 518
- Communication Disorders Quarterly DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 J86162
- Hearing Journal DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 N2772
- International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 B86251
- Journal of Communication Disorders DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 J8585
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 J897
- Language, Speech and Hearing Services in Schools DIRAC Science Library Periodicals 610.5 L287
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about communication disorders can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Dirac Science Library and Strozier Library.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on communication disorders will be on the first floor of Dirac Science Library and the fourth floor of Strozier Library. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Dirac Science Library and Strozier Library for additional materials on communication disorders. The majority of the 'H's, 'L's, and 'P's are located in Strozier, and the majority of the 'R's, 'Q's, and 'T's are located at Dirac.
- HV 2349-2990.7 --- The deaf (Social aspects)
- LB 1139.L3 --- Children. Language development
- LB 3454 --- School health services. Speech disorders. Speech therapy
- LC 4616-4620 --- Mentally handicapped children. Language
- LC 4704.85-4704.87 --- Learning disabled children. Language
- LC 4708-4710 --- Dyslexic children
- LC 4717-4719 --- Austistic children
- P 118-118.75 --- Language acquisition
- P 215-240 --- Phonology. Phonetics
- RC 387.5 --- Brain damage
- RC 423-429 --- Speech and Language disorders
- RC 423 --- General works
- RC 424 --- Stuttering
- RC 424.7 --- Articulation disorders
- RC 425 --- Aphasia
- RC 428 --- Study and teaching of speech therapy
- RC 428.5 --- Speech therapy as a profession
- RC 429 --- Augmentative and alternative communication
- RC 815-815.6 --- Deglutition disorders
- RF 460-547 --- Diseases of the throat
- RF 89-285 --- Diseases of the ear
- RF 285-320 --- Audiology. Hearing disorders
- RJ 463.I54 --- Pediatrics. Deglutition disorders
- RJ 496 --- Pediatrics. Diseases of the nervous system
- QC 221-246 --- Acoustics
- QM 507 --- Anatomy of the ear
- QP 306 --- Physiology. Voices and speech. Larynx
- QP 460-471.2 --- Physiology of the ear
- TK 7882.S65 --- Speech processing systems
- TK 7895.S65 --- Speech recognition systems
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- Aphasia
- Audiology
- Auditory Evoked Response
- Auditory Perception
- Chochlear Implants
- Communicative Disorders
- Equilibrium Physiology
- Hearing Aids
- Hearing Disorders
- Language Disorders
- Speech - Physiological Aspects
- Speech Disorders
- Speech Therapy
- Voice Disorders
General Reference Works
Click here for directions to the FSU Libraries and maps of the library floors, including call number locations. Please note that books which are located in Reference or Ready Reference sections are for in-library use only.
Encyclopedias
- The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders DIRAC Science Library Reference RC423 .M56 2004
Dictionaries
Guides
- Assessment of Language Disorders in Children DIRAC Science Library RJ496.L35 M375 2001
- Communication Sciences and Disorders: An Introduction DIRAC Science Library RC423 .J87 2006
- Human Communication Disorders: An Introduction DIRAC Science Library RC423 .H847 2006
- Introduction to Clinical Methods in Communication Disorders DIRAC Science Library RC423 .I545 2007
- The Social Psychology of Communication Impairment STROZIER Library HM1033 .B78 1999
Websites
Colleges and Universities
- FSU's Department of Communication Disorders (College of Communication)
General Resources
- This site provides an English and manual alphabet/dictionary, a brief history of sign language, as well as links to other sites of interest. Presents a collection of Quicktime movies demonstrating ASL signs, each of which is accompanied by a textual description.
- The Foundation's mission is to advance knowledge about the causes and treatment of hearing, speech, and language problems, and to provide support for research, graduate education, and special projects that foster discovery and innovation.
- An annotated guide highlighting communication sciences resources based on their authoritative nature, scope, and relevance. Published by Edward L. F. González, Judith M. Kuster, and Laura Steinbach in College & Research Libraries News, February 2001
- Deafness and Communication Disorders Database (1987-present)
- A sub-file of the CHID database, it provides access to current information in the field of communication sciences with references to books, journal articles, directories, bibliographies, fact sheets, manuals, pamphlets, audiovisuals, and other educational materials.
- Provides links to a collection of articles on the Internet written by Judith Kuster, author of the "Internet column" in The ASHA Leader, a publication of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
- The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and seven groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States. The Language Map illustrates the density of language speakers in zip codes and counties. The Data Center provides actual numbers and percentages of speakers.
- One of the Institutes that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the NIDCD is mandated to conduct and support biomedical and behavioral research and research training in the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language.
- Lists ASHA-certified professionals in private practice (US or Canadian, full- or part-time) as well as programs in hospitals, community speech and hearing centers, rehabilitation centers, nursing care facilities, colleges and universities, physicians' offices, private schools, and other settings.
- An exceptional international listing for professionals and consumers seeking speech-language pathology information. Maintained by Caroline Bowen
- A comprehensive listing of speech language pathology sites maintained by Liz Herring
- Provides links to employment opportunities, continuing education courses, products, and other Internet resources Organizations and Associations
Organizations
Help
- Communication Disorders Liaison:
Special Services Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-6462
njean@fsu.edu
