E-Learning
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
E-learning studies prepare students to develop and lead distance education programs.
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying e-learning. It focuses on general resources, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- Education Index Retrospective & Education Full Text (1929 to present)
- Primarily indexes English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Some articles available in full text.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966 to present)
- Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
- Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
- Resources in Education (RIE)
- Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present)
- A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes cited reference searching.
Related Databases and Indexes
- ABI/INFORM Global (1971 to present)
- Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in business and management periodicals.
- A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- PsycInfo (1887 to present)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Journals
Electronic Journal Resources
- Education e-journals (FSU)
- Directory of Open Access Journals in Education (Lund University, Sweden)
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education (American Educational Research Association)
Print Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- The American Journal of Distance Education. STROZIER 370.5 A51281
- British Journal of Educational Technology. STROZIER 370.5 B8621
- Higher Education. STROZIER 370.5 H63835
- Innovations in Education & Teaching Int’l. STROZIER 370.5 P9646
- Journal of Distance Education. STROZIER 370.5 J8626
- Journal of Educational Research. STROZIER 370.5 J862
- Journal of Educational Technology Systems. STROZIER 370.5 J8617
- Technology & Learning. STROZIER 370.5 C614
Newspapers
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Chronicle of Higher Education. STROZIER 370.5 C557
- Education Week. STROZIER 370.5 E24161
- Times Higher Education Supplement. STROZIER Film PR 364
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about e-learning can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on e-learning will be on the fourth floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on e-learning. The majority of the 'L's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.
- L --- Education (General)
- LA --- History of Education
- LB --- Theory and Practice of Education
- LC --- Special Aspects of Education
- LC 1022-1022.25 --- Computer-Assisted Education
- LC 5800-5808 --- Distance Education
- LD --- Individual Institutions: United States
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- Computer-assisted instruction
- Distance education
- Educational technology
- Open learning
- Technological literacy
- Web-based instruction
General Reference Works
When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.
Encyclopedias
- Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB1028.3 .E17 2004
- Encyclopedia of Distance Learning. STROZIER 2005
- Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning. STROZIER Reference LC5211 .E52 2004
- Encyclopedia of Education. Electronic Resource (2nd ed., 2003)
Bibliographies
- Distance Education: An Annotated Bibliography. Electronic Resource (1995)
- Distance Learning for Higher Education: An Annotated Bibliography. GOLDSTEIN Professional Z5814 .D54 F78 2002
Glossaries/Dictionaries
- Academic Keywords: A Devil's Dictionary for Higher Education STROZIER Reference LB2324 .N45 1999
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education. STROZIER Reference LB15 .G68 2003
- Learning Theories, A to Z. STROZIER Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
Directories
- The College Blue Book: Distance Learning Programs. STROZIER Reference L901 .C64 32nd ed. 2005 v. 6
- Peterson’s Distance Learning Programs. STROZIER Reference LC5805 .P48 (2005)
Guides
- Advanced Methods in Distance Education: Applications and Practices for Educators, Trainers, and Learners. Electronic Resource (2005)
- Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning in Higher Education. Electronic Resource (2005)
- Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. STROZIER Reference Z5811 .B89 2000
- Research Methods in Education. STROZIER LB1028 .C572 2000 (Electronic Resource: 2003)
- E-Learning QUICK Checklist. Electronic Resource (2005)
- Research Methods in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative and Qualitative Approaches. STROZIER LB1028 .M3966 1998
Handbooks
- Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook. STROZIER Reference LB1028 .E3184 1997
Statistical Sources
- Lexis-Nexis Statistical. (Electronic Database)
- Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics
Tests and Measurement
- The Mental Measurements Yearbook. STROZIER Reference Z5814 .P8 B932
- Testing and Standards: A brief encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
- Tests in Print. STROZIER Reference Z5814.E9 T47 2002
Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses. Electronic Database (citations and full text: 1861 to present)
- Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
- ETDs@FSU. (Electronic Database)
- Download the most recent Masters Theses and Dissertations from Florida State University published from March 2003 to the present.
- Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986 to 2003). STROZIER Reference Z5055 .U49 M3
Yearbooks
- Educational Media and Technology Yearbook. STROZIER Reference LB1028.3 .E37 (2006)
Websites
Colleges and Universities
General Education Resources
- Education Topics A to Z (U.S. Department of Education)
- Educator’s Reference Desk (Information Institute of Syracuse)
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (U.S. Department of Education)
Content/Course Design
- Best Educational e-Practices (St. Petersburg College)
- National Center for Academic Transformation (Resources for course redesign)
Copyright Issues
- Copyright, Distance Education, & Intellectual Property (American Association of University Professors)
- Distance Education & The TEACH Act (American Library Association)
Government Agencies
- Distance Learning in Florida Public Universities (Board of Governors, State Universities of Florida)
- State Education Departments and Boards (State & Local Government on the Net)
Organizations
Policy Issues
- Developing a Distance Education Policy for 21st Century Learning (American Council on Education)
- Distance Learning/Virtual University (Education Commission of the States)
- Legislative Issues: Information Technology & Distance Education (National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges)
- Quality on the Line: Benchmarks for Success in Internet-Based Distance Education (Institute for Higher Education Policy)
Statistics
- Distance Education at Degree-Granting Postsecondary Institutions 2000-2001 (National Center for Educational Statistics)
- Growing By Degrees: Online Education in the United States 2005 (Sloan Consortium)
- National Center for Educational Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
- Survey of Distance Education (National Research Center on Rural Education)
Technology
- Distance, Distributed and Blended/Hybrid Learning (Teaching, Learning & Technology Group)
- Technical Guidelines for Digital Learning Content (Southern Regional Education Board)
- Technology and Distance Learning (U.S. Department of Education)
- Technology and Learning (Association of American Colleges and Universities)
Help
- Education Liaison:
Reference Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-1680
gcolvin@mailer.fsu.edu


