Early Childhood Education
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
Early childhood education studies prepare students to teach children from birth through elementary school.
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students, and focuses on general resources related to early childhood education, including books, journals, and online materials available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- Education Index Retrospective & Education Full Text (1929 to present)
- Primarily indexes English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Some articles available in full text.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966 to present)
- Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
- Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
- Resources in Education (RIE)
- Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present)
- A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes cited reference searching.
Related Databases and Indexes
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (1993 to present)
- Contains more than 75,000 critical reviews of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
- A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Includes critical analyses of children's literature, and suggestions for educational activities.
- PsycInfo (1887 to present)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963 to present)
- Print version: Sociological Abstracts (1952/53 to 1998) STROZIER Reference Z7164 S68 S62
- Covers sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women’s studies.
- TeachingBooks makes instantly available original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles and a wealth of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.
Journals
Electronic Journal Resources
- Education e-journals (FSU)
- Directory of Open Access Journals in Education (Lund University, Sweden)
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education (American Educational Research Association)
Print Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Action in Teacher Education. STROZIER 370.5 A1882
- American Educational Research Journal. STROZIER 370.5 A51226
- American Journal of Education. STROZIER 370.5 S3728
- Childhood Education. STROZIER 370.5 C536
- Early Childhood Education Journal. STROZIER 370.5 D273
- Early Childhood Research Quarterly. STROZIER 370.5 E124
- Early Education and Development. STROZIER 370.5 E125
- Education. STROZIER 370.5 E24
- Educational Evaluation & Policy Analysis. STROZIER 370.5 E2452
- Educational Forum. STROZIER 370.5 E246
- Educational Researcher. STROZIER 370.5 E2537
- Elementary School Journal. STROZIER 370.5 E38
- Harvard Educational Review. STROZIER 370.5 H339
- Journal of Curriculum and Supervision. STROZIER 370.5 J86152
- Journal of Education. STROZIER 370.5 J869
- Journal of Educational Research. STROZIER 370.5 J862
- Journal of Teacher Education. STROZIER 370.5 J868
- Peabody Journal of Education. STROZIER 370.5 P352
- Phi Delta Kappan. STROZIER 370.5 P5431
- Review of Educational Research. STROZIER 370.5 R454
- Teacher Education Quarterly. STROZIER 370.5 T25351
- Teachers College Record. STROZIER 370.5 T253
- Teaching and Teacher Education. STROZIER 370.5 T25331
- Teaching Pre K-8. STROZIER 370.5 E12
- Young Children. STROZIER 370.5 N277b
Newspapers
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Chronicle of Higher Education. STROZIER 370.5 C557
- Education Week. STROZIER 370.5 E24161
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about early childhood education can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below (after the Library of Congress classifications) may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on early childhood education will be on the third and fourth floors, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress call number classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on early childhood education. The majority of the 'B's and 'H's are located on the third floor of Strozier, and the majority of the 'L's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.
- BF719-720 --- Infant psychology
- BF721–723 --- Child psychology
- HQ767.8–792.2 --- Child development (sociological aspects)
- HQ774 --- Social development of infants
- HV851-861 --- Day care centers
- LB1101–1139 --- Child development (education)
- LB1139.2-1139.4 --- Early childhood education
- LB1140-1140.5 --- Preschool education (includes infant education)
- LB1141-1489 --- Kindergarten
- LB1501-1549 --- Primary education
- LB1555-1602 --- Elementary or Public school education
- LB1733-1775.5 --- Early childhood teachers
- LC1099 --- Multicultural education
- LC3707-3715 --- Bilingual education general
- LC3725 --- Bilingual education elementary schools or public education
- LC3728 --- Training teachers
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when searching the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- Behavior modification
- Child care
- Child development
- Classroom management
- Creative activities and seat work
- Curriculum planning
- Discipline
- Early childhood education
- Early childhood teachers
- Education, Primary
- Educational tests and measurement
- Kindergarten
- Multicultural education
- Needs assessment
- Preschool children
The subject subdivision Education (Early childhood) may also be used under classes of persons and ethnic groups, and the subdivision Study and teaching (Early childhood) may be used under subjects, e.g. Science--Study and teaching (Early childhood).
General Reference Works
Links to electronic versions are provided if available. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor.
Encyclopedias
- Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB1028.3 .E17 2004
- Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB 1139.23 .E272
2007 (4 vol.)
- Encyclopedia of American Education. STROZIER Reference LB17 .U54 1996
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society. STROZIER Reference HQ767.84 .E53 2004
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media. Electronic Resource (2006)
- Encyclopedia of Education. Electronic Resource (2nd ed., 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Human Development. Electronic Resource (2005)
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education. STROZIER Reference LC1099.3 .M58 1999
Glossaries/Dictionaries
- The Cyclopedic Education Dictionary. Electronic Resource (1998)
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education. STROZIER Reference LC1099 .D53 1997
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education. STROZIER Reference LB15 .G68 2003
- Learning Theories, A to Z. STROZIER Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
Directories
- Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration. STROZIER Reference Z286 .E3 .C37 7th ed. 2005-2006
- Internet Resource Directory for K-12 Teachers and Librarians. Electronic Resource (2001)
Guides
- Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. STROZIER Reference Z5811 .B89 2000
- Issues in Educational Research. STROZIER LB1028 .I84 1999
- Research Methods in Education. STROZIER LB1028 .C572 2000
- Research Methods in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative and Qualitative Approaches. STROZIER LB1028 .M3966 1998
Handbooks
- Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook. STROZIER Reference LB1028 .E3184 1997
- The Educator's Desk Reference: A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Resources. STROZIER Reference LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002
- Elementary Education: A Reference Handbook. STROZIER LB1555 .H297 2005
- The Florida Education Handbook. STROZIER Reference LA258 .F56 (1998)
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children. STROZIER LB1119 .H25 2006
Histories
- Early Childhood Education: History, Theory, and Practice. STROZIER
- Historical Dictionary of American Education. Electronic Resource, 1999
- Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation: The American Experience. STROZIER Reference LC212.52 .R34 1998
- History of Early Childhood Education. STROZIER LB1139.23 .L39 2000
Statistical Sources
- The Condition of Education. Electronic Resource (1989 to present); STROZIER Documents ED1.109 (1975 to present)
- Digest of Education Statistics. Electronic Resource (1990 to present); STROZIER Documents ED1.326 (1975 to present)
- Lexis-Nexis Statistical. Electronic Database
- Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics
- Projections of Education Statistics. STROZIER Documents ED1.120
Tests and Measurement
- The Best Teacher’s Test Preparation for the FTCE: Florida Teacher Certification Examination—Professional Education Test. STROZIER LB1763.F6 B47 2007
- Educational Testing and Measurement: Classroom Application and Practice. STROZIER LB3051 .K8 2007
- Florida Teacher Certification Examination Test Preparation Guides. STROZIER Documents Fla-Doc EDU8 .C36
- The Mental Measurements Yearbook. STROZIER Reference Z5814 .P8 B932
- Testing and Standards: A brief encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
- Tests in Print. STROZIER Reference Z5814.E9 T47 2002
Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses. Electronic Database (citations and full text: 1861 to present)
- Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
- ETDs@FSU. Electronic Database
- Download the most recent Masters Theses and Dissertations from Florida State University published from March 2003 to the present.
- Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986 to 2003). STROZIER Reference Z5055 .U49 M3
Websites
General Education Resources
- Education Topics A to Z (U.S. Department of Education)
- Educator’s Reference Desk (Information Institute of Syracuse)
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (U.S. Department of Education)
- Gateway to Educational Resources (GEM) (U.S. Department of Education)
- TeacherSource (PBS)
Colleges and Universities
- Peterson’s (profiles of U.S. colleges and universities)
Government Agencies
- State Education Departments and Boards (State & Local Government on the Net)
Organizations
Statistics
- The Condition of Education (U.S. Department of Education)
- Digest of Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
- Florida School Indicators Report (Florida Department of Education)
- International Archive of Education Data (Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research)
- National Center for Educational Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
- Projections of Education Statistics to 2013 (U.S. Department of Education)
- Statistical Resources on the Web: Education (University of Michigan)
Help
- Education Liaison:
Education Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-7447
mcbrooks@mailer.fsu.edu


