English Databases
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals from 1975 to the present.
Arts & Humanities Search
Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Online version of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
English Short Title Catalogue
Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier.
Essay & General Literature Index
(Changed to H.W. Wilson January 2004)
Indexes essays and articles that have been published in collections as books. It is a good source of literary criticism published in books rather than in periodical articles from 1985-More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed. Essay and General Literature Index also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes articles in approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology from 1980 to the present.
Francis
Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective and Humanities & Social Sciences Full Text
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
ITER bibliography
The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 to the present.
Literature Resource Center
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Middle English Compendium
Access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.
MLA Bibliography
Highly Recommended! Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present.
Project Muse
http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals (Mirror server if link above is not working)
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-present)
Scribner
The Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.
Twayne
This comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. Great for info on contemporary writers.
