English Primary Sources
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
A collection of digital texts and images, including books, manuscripts, photographs, and film created from the collections of the U.S. Library of Congress
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published between 1740 and 1900. Covers special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Digitized Juvenile Literature Collection
Drawn from collections in FSU Libraries Special Collections, the Digitized Juvenile Literature Collection contains over 2,500 scanned page images from 47 nineteenth-century children's books. More texts are continuously being added to the collection.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1,2 and 3 1690-1922- Offers fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers, focusing on titles published in the 18th-20th centuries.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Early English Books Online (University of Michigan)
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference.
Evans Digital Edition (1639 - 1800)
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Contains over 36,000 imprints and more than 2.5 million images.
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II
Civil War and Reconstruction content from Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877, with index.
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York times from its first issue in 1851 to two years before the current date.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
When complete, this collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.
Oxford Text Archives Free open access texts containing thousands of texts and linguistic corpora.
Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Also called Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
