Fashion and Costume

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

Woman dressed in Empire Style Costume by Mac Harshberger (circa 1928 - 1932)
Woman dressed in Empire Style Costume by Mac Harshberger (circa 1928 - 1932)

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying fashion and costume, and may be particularly useful for both theater and art students.

This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.








Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

  • Art Full Text (Online: 1984-present / Print: 1929-1997) STROZIER Reference Z5937 .A78
Indexes and abstracts 313 art publications from around the world. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
A multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
BHA indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer’s catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Print predecessors: RAA (Repertoire d’Art et d’Archeologie) (1910-1963; 1965-1989) STROZIER Reference Z5937 .R4, and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) (1975 - 1989) STROZIER Reference N1 .R5.
Index to art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century. The journal contents are indexed, including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.
Produced by the Institute of Textile Technology, the Textile Technology Digest (TTD) database contains bibliographic citations, with abstracts, and provides international coverage of the literature of textiles and related subjects derived from resources held in the Institute's library.

Related Databases and Indexes

Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in business and management periodicals.
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals. Covers special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
  • ArtBibliographies Modern (1969-present) STROZIER Reference Z5935.A7
A subject and name index to periodical articles, books and exhibition catalogs dealing with art and design since 1800.
  • Clothing and Textile Arts Index (1983-1993) STROZIER Reference GT500.C562. Previous title: The Clothing Index (1980-1982) STROZIER Reference GT500.C561.

Journals

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

  • GQ DIRAC SCIENCE 640.5 G338
  • Vogue DIRAC SCIENCE 640.5 V888

Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine (title varies), a popular women’s periodical in the 19th century, is available online (1840-1898). Also available in Strozier in microfilm and print. An online catalog title search of “Godeys” in the Journals/Serials subsection will bring up all the title variations, formats and call numbers.

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about fashion and costume can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier and Dirac libraries.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on fashion and costume will be on the third floor of Strozier and the first floor of Dirac, while the media resources will be on the ground floor of Strozier in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier and Dirac libraries for additional materials on fashion and costume. The majority of the 'G's are on the third floor of Strozier and the majority of the 'T's are on the first floor of Dirac. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on Strozier's ground floor and first (main) floor.

  • GR 420-426 --- Folklore: Costume, jewelry
  • GT 500-2370 --- Manners and customs: Costume. Dress. Fashion
  • TT 490-695 --- Handicrafts. Arts and crafts: Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • Children's clothing
  • Clothing and dress
  • Coats
  • Costume
  • Costume designers
  • Costume -- France
  • Costume -- History -- 18th Century
  • Eskimos -- Clothing
  • Fashion
  • Fashion designers
  • Hats
  • Men's clothing
  • Military uniforms
  • Shoes
  • Sport clothes

General Reference Works

When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion STROZIER Reference GT507.E53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of World Costume STROZIER Reference GT507.Y37 [1978]
  • Esquire’s Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men’s Fashion DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT617.S36 [1973], ask at the Circulation Desk.
  • Ethnic Dress STROZIER Reference GT511.K46 1995
  • The Fashion Encyclopedia: An Essential Guide to Everything You Need to Know about Clothes DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT503.H68 1982
  • Folk Costumes of the World in Colour STROZIER Library GT511 .H38
  • Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes STROZIER Reference GT510.R3313 1988
  • Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present STROZIER Reference GT730.C37 1994
  • The St. James Fashion Encyclopedia: A Survey of Style from 1945 to the Present DIRAC SCIENCE Library Reference TT505.A1 S73 1997
  • Survey of Historic Costume STROZIER Reference GT511 T67 1989

Dictionaries

  • Complete Footware Dictionary DIRAC SCIENCE Library TS947.R67 1994
  • Costume Language: A Dictionary of Dress Terms STROZIER Reference GT507.D38 1994
  • Essential Terms of Fashion: A Collection of Definitions STROZIER Reference TT494.C35 1986
  • Fairchild's Dictionary of Fashion DIRAC SCIENCE Reserves TT503.C34 1988
  • The Fashion Dictionary: Fabric, Sewing, and Apparel as expressed in the Language of Fashion DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT503.P5 1973
  • The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers STROZIER Reference GT507.O53 1998

Guides

  • Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture: A Reference Guide STROZIER Reference GT605.O45 1996
  • Theatrical Costume: a Guide to Information Sources STROZIER Reference Z5691.K47 [1979]

Bibliographies

  • African Dress II STROZIER Reference GT1580 A47 1985
  • Bibliography of Costume, A Dictionary Catalog of about Eight Thousand Books and Periodicals STROZIER Reference Z5691.H64 [1939]
  • Film Costume: an Annotated Bibliography STROZIER Reference Z5691.P75 [1981]
  • Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: A Bibliography and Iconography STROZIER Reference PN2067.J684 2000

Handbooks

  • Handbook of Costume STROZIER Library GT510 .A75 [1973]
  • Handbook of English Costume in the Twentieth Century, 1900-1950 STROZIER Reference GT738.M36

Biographies

Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
  • Contemporary Designers STROZIER Reference NK 1390.C655 1997
  • Contemporary Fashion DIRAC SCIENCE Reference TT505.A1 C66 1995
  • Costume Design in the Movies: an Illustrated Guide to the Work of 157 Great Designers DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT507.L42 1991
  • Couture, the Great Designers DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT505.A1 M55 1985
  • Current Biography Yearbook STROZIER Reference CT100.C8
  • Fashion Designers DIRAC SCIENCE Library TT505.A1 G6 2001
  • In an Influential Fashion: an Encyclopedia of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Fashion Designers and Retailers Who Transformed Dress DIRAC SCIENCE Reference TT505.A1 I5 2002
  • Theatrical Designers: an International Biographical Dictionary STROZIER Reference PN2096.A1 M54 1992
  • Who’s Who in Fashion DIRAC SCIENCE Reference TT505.A1 S74 1996

Directories

  • Membership Directory (Costume Society of America) STROZIER Reference GT 500.C672 2005
  • Fashion Guide: International Designer Directory DIRAC SCIENCE Reserves TT495.F37 1995

Catalog

Contains over 50 million bibliographic records for books, journals, media, and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Histories

  • 20,000 Years of Fashion: the History of Costume and Personal Adornment STROZIER Library GT510.B6713 1987
  • Chronicle of Western Fashion: From Ancient Times to the Present Day STROZIER Reference GT511.P42 1991
  • Complete History of Costume and Fashion: From Egypt to the Present Day STROZIER Library GT375.C67 2001
  • Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000 STROZIER Library GT580.N85 2000
  • Survey of Historic Costume STROZIER Reference GT511.T67 1989

Dissertations and Theses

Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.

Micromaterials

  • Design by Motley: Set and Costume Designs 1932-1976 STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 1483.
Sketches and paintings of costumes for the theater, opera, ballet, film, and television are included. Accompanying guide is shelved separately: STROZIER Micromaterials Micr PN2091.S8 M699 1992.
  • Theatre Costume Design in the Victoria and Albert Museum STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 1016
This collection covers over 3000 designs dating from 1589 to the 20th century. A guide to this collection is available in STROZIER Micromaterials PN2067.V53.

Careers, Education, and Financial Aid

  • Apparel and Textile Careers STROZIER Multimedia Center -- VHS -- TT497 .A66 1992 Vid 1788
  • Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts STROZIER Reference PN1580.F54 1999

Websites

This website provides extensive bibliographies on fashion, costume, accessories, apparel design technology, apparel manufacturing management, fashion merchandising, careers, textile science, and related topics.
Presents illustrations of costumes from antiquity to the late 19th century.

Help

  • Art Liaison:

Sandra Clayton-Emmerson

Coordinator of Communications, Marketing and Publications
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-7558
sclaytonemmerson@mailer.fsu.edu

Views
Personal tools