General Art Resources

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

Indian Painter by Eanger Irving Couse (19th century)
Indian Painter by Eanger Irving Couse (19th century)

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying art.

This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.




Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
  • ARTbibliographies Modern (1969-present) STROZIER Reference Z5935.A7
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations and exhibition catalogs. It covers a wide variety of types of art, including ceramics, video art, body art, and installation works.
A multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
BHA indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer’s catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Print predecessors: RAA (Repertoire d’Art et d’Archeologie) (1910-1963; 1965-1989) STROZIER Reference Z5937 .R4, and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) (1975 - 1989) STROZIER Reference N1 .R5.
The Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing collection containing images, text and multimedia, representing a broad range of works of art from around the world from prehistoric to contemporary times.
Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.

Related Databases and Indexes

Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Journals

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about art can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on art will be on the fourth floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials about art. The majority of the 'N's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.

  • N --- Fine arts
  • N 5300-7429 --- Art History
  • NA --- Architecture
  • NB --- Sculpture
  • NC --- Drawing. Design. Illustration
  • ND --- Painting
  • NE --- Print media
  • NK --- Decorative arts
  • NX --- Arts in general
  • TR --- Photography
  • TT --- Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • Art
  • Art -- American
  • Art -- Ancient
  • Art -- Modern
  • Commercial art
  • Folk art
  • Graphic arts

General Reference Works

When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.

Encyclopedias

  • The Art Business Encyclopedia STROZIER Reference N8600.D83 1994
  • The Dictionary of Art STROZIER Reference N31.D5 1996 (See also the electronic version: Grove Dictionary of Art under Major Databases and Indexes.)

Dictionaries

  • Art Speak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords (1945 – present) STROZIER Reference N6490.A87 1997
  • ARTLEX (a website by Michael Delahunt, M.F.A.)
  • The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms STROZIER Reference N33.L75 2004
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Art STROZIER Reference N33.O93 2004

Guides

  • American Graphic Designer: A Guide to the Literature STROZIER Reference Z5956.D5T46 1992
  • Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks STROZIER Reference Z5931.E47 1990
  • Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It STROZIER Reference N59.J66 1999
  • Art Research Methods and Resources: A Guide to Finding Art Information STROZIER Reference N85.J64 1984

Handbooks

  • Health Hazards Manual for Artists DIRAC SCIENCE Library RC963.6.A78 M324 1994
  • The Artist’s Handbook of Materials and Techniques STROZIER Library ND1500.M3 1991
  • Clay and Glazes for the Potter DIRAC SCIENCE Library TP808.R49 2000
  • The Color Compendium DIRAC SCIENCE Library QC494.2.H67 1990
  • Legal Guide for the Visual Artist STROZIER Library KF390.A7C73 1999

Biographies

  • American Printmakers, 1880-1945: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information STROZIER Reference NE507.W53 1993
  • American Printmakers, 1946-1996: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information STROZIER Reference NE508.B76 1999
  • Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists STROZIER Reference N40.F73 1997
  • A Biographical Dictionary of Artists STROZIER Reference N40.B53 1995
  • Contemporary Artists STROZIER Reference N6490.C6567 2002
  • Contemporary Graphic Artists STROZIER Reference NC45.C6 [1988]
  • Dictionary of American Sculptors STROZIER Reference NB236.O64 1984
  • International Dictionary of Art and Artists STROZIER Reference N7425.I67 1990
  • Self Taught, Outsider and Folk Art: A Guide to American Artists, Locations and Resources STROZIER Reference NK805.S46 2000
  • Who’s Who in American Art STROZIER Reference N6536.W5
  • Who’s Who in Art STROZIER Reference N40.W6

Directories

  • American Art Directory STROZIER Reference N50.A54 2001/02
  • Art in America: Annual Guide to Galleries, Museums, Artists STROZIER Periodicals 705 A7848 (August issue)
  • International Directory of Arts STROZIER Reference N50.I6 2003

Dissertations

Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.

Art Criticism

  • Modern Arts Criticism STROZIER Reference N40.M63

Book Reviews

  • Book Review Digest (Electronic Resource: 1983 – present / Print Version: 1905-1995) STROZIER LIBRARY Reference Z1219 .C96 (Shelved in Subbasement with Indexes:1917/1921-1975/1984.)
Provides access to book reviews from nearly 100 American and Canadian periodicals. Books in all languages and from all countries qualify to be included if they are reviewed in one of the review sources indexed. The database includes children’s books as well as book for adults and young adults.
  • Book Review Index (1965 - present) STROZIER Reference Z1035.A1 B6, Index Shelf 6

Images

Indexes to Reproductions in Books:

  • American Printmakers, 1946-1996: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information STROZIER Reference NE508.B76 1999
  • Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to Reproductions STROZIER Reference N6490.P3234 1978
  • Index to Art Reproductions in Books STROZIER Reference N7525.H48 1974
  • Index to Reproductions of American Paintings Appearing in More Than 400 Books Mostly Published Since 1960 STROZIER Reference ND205.S575 1977
  • Index to Two-dimensional Art Works STROZIER Reference N7525.K67 1981
  • Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions STROZIER Reference NE90.P17 1983
  • Sculpture Index STROZIER Reference NB36.C55 1970
  • World Painting Index STROZIER Reference ND45.H38; World Painting Index: First Supplement, 1978-1980 STROZIER Reference ND45.H38 Sup 1 1982 ; World Painting Index: Second Supplement, 1980-1989 STROZIER Reference ND45.H38 Sup 2 1995

Image Databases:

Indexes websites that provide images on the internet, mostly of painting and sculpture.
The database has over 82,000 images.

Careers, Education, and Financial Aid

  • American Art Directory STROZIER Reference N50.A54 2001/02
  • Artist’s & Graphic Designer’s Market: Where & How to Sell Your Illustration, Fine Art, Graphic Design & Cartoons STROZIER Reference N51.A73 2003
  • Artist’s Resource Handbook STROZIER Reference N8353.G73 1996
  • Becoming a Graphic Designer: A Guide to Careers in Design STROZIER Library NC1001.H45 2002
  • Career Opportunities in Art STROZIER Reference N6505.H35 2001
  • Directory of Grants in the Humanities STROZIER Reference AZ188.U5D57 2004/05
  • National Directory of Arts Internships STROZIER Reference NX396.6.N38 2001/02
  • Peterson’s Graduate Programs in the Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences STROZIER Reference Desk L901.P445 2005/06
  • Peterson’s Professional Degree Programs in the Visual & Performing Arts STROZIER Reference NX303.P52 2001

Websites

Help

  • Art Liaison:

Contact

Image:Emmerson.jpg

Views
Personal tools