General Sociology Resources
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying sociology.
This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- PsycInfo (1887-present)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (1956-present)
- A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes cited reference searching.
- Social Sciences Fulltext (1983-present)
- Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Print version: Social Sciences Index (1974/75 to present) STROZIER Reference AI3 .S62. Formerly, Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1907-1974 STROZIER Reference AI3 .R49.
- Social Services Abstracts (1980-present)
- Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963-present)
- Covers sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women’s studies. Print version: Sociological Abstracts (1952/53-1998) STROZIER Reference Z7164.S68 S62.
Related Databases and Indexes
- Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons, AgeLine contains citations and abstracts of books, journals, research reports, consumer guides, and book chapters from 1978 - date.
- Provides in-depth, unbiased reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.
- Covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index STROZIER Reference Z5118 .C9 C74 (Online: 1981 to present; Print: 1975-1998)
- Provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
- (Changed to Proquest, Jan 2004) A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals) (1970 to present)
- Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
- Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage is from 1985-
- One-stop source for information on social issues. Provides facts as well as differing points of view on current topics.
Journals
Electronic Journal Resources
- Sociology e-journals (FSU)
Print Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- American Journal of Sociology STROZIER 305 A512
- American Sociological Review STROZIER 305 A5121
- British Journal of Sociology STROZIER 305 B862
- Journal of Marriage and the Family STROZIER 390.5 M359
- Journal of Social Issues STROZIER 305 J861
- Social Forces STROZIER 360.5 S6782
- Social Problems STROZIER 305 S6789
- Sociology STROZIER 305 S67833
- Sociology of Education STROZIER 305 J86
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about sociology can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on sociology will be on the fourth floor of Strozier, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on sociology. The majority of the 'HM's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.
- HM 401-1281 --- Sociology (general)
- HM 435-477 --- History of sociology. History of sociological theory.
- HM 461-473 --- Schools of sociology. Schools of social thought.
- HM 481-554 --- Theory. Method. Relations to other subjects.
- HM 621-656 --- Culture
- HM 661-696 --- Social control
- HM 701 --- Social systems
- HM 706 --- Social structure
- HM 711-806 --- Groups and organizations
- HM 756-781 --- Community
- HM 786-806 --- Organizational sociology. Organization theory.
- HM 811-821 --- Deviant behavior. Social deviance.
- HM 826 --- Social institutions
- HM 831-901 --- Social change
- HM 1001-1281 --- Social psychology
- HM 1041-1101 --- Social perception. Social cognition. Includes perception of self and others, prejudices, stereotypes.
- HM 1106-1171 --- Interpersonal relations. Social behavior.
- HM 1176-1281 --- Social influence. Social pressure.
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- Clinical sociology
- Community psychology
- Crime -- Sociological aspects
- Deviant behavior
- Educational sociology
- Ethnic relations
- Ethnology
- Exchange theory (Sociology)
- Forensic sociology
- Industrial sociology
- Knowledge, sociology of
- Mass society
- Political sociology
- Population
- Power (Social sciences)
- Rural conditions
- Sexuality
- Social change
- Social customs
- Social influence
- Social institutions
- Social problems
- Social psychology
- Social structure
- Social systems
- Socialization
- Sociology
- Sociology, rural
- Sociology of disability
- Urban studies
- War and society
- Women
- Youth and children
General Reference Works
When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics STROZIER REFERENCE HB871 .N43 1999
- Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues STROZIER REFERENCE HN57 .K73 1997
- Encyclopedia of Social Issues STROZIER REFERENCE HN57 .E59 1997
- Encyclopedia of Sociology STROZIER REFERENCE HM425 .E5 2000
- Encyclopedia of Women and Gender STROZIER REFERENCE HQ151 .E43 2001
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences STROZIER REFERENCE H41 .I58 2001
- Sociology Basics (2000)
- World of Sociology STROZIER REFERENCE HM585 .W67 2001
Bibliographies
- Alcohol Abuse: A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography and Annotated Research Guide to Internet Resources (2003)
- Gangs (2000) STROZIER Documents HE20.409/2: G15
- Race and Crime: An Annotated Bibliography STROZIER REFERENCE HV6197.U5 R87 2000
- Suicide STROZIER Documents HE20.409/2: SU3 (2000)
- Pro-Choice/Pro-Life Issues in the 1990s: An Annotated, Selected Bibliography 1996 STROZIER REFERENCE HQ767.5 .U5 F59 1996
- Homelessness in America: 1893 -1992: An Annotated Bibliography (1994) STROZIER REFERENCE HV4505 .H66 1994
Biographies
- Beyond the Englightenment: Lives and Thoughts of Social Theorists (2004) STROZIER HM478 .S35 2004
- Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas
Dictionaries
- A Dictionary of Sociology (2003) STROZIER REFERENCE HM17 .C66 2005
Directories
Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses. Electronic Database (citations and full text: 1861 to present)
- Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
- ETDs@FSU. Electronic Database
- Download the most recent Masters Theses and Dissertations from Florida State University published from March 2003 to the present.
- Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986 to 2003). STROZIER Reference Z5055 .U49 M3
Guides
- Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources STROZIER REF HM585.S68 A24 2005
Handbooks
- Handbook of Emotions STROZIER BF561 .H35 2000
- Handbook of Qualitative Research STROZIER H62 .H2455 2000
- Handbook of the Sociology of Education STROZIER LC191 .H254 2000
- International Handbook of Contemporary Developments in Sociology STROZIER HM19 .I59 1994
- International Handbook of Sociology STROZIER HM51 .I57 2000
Histories
- The City: A Global History STROZIER HT111 .K65 2005
Quotations
- Key Quotations in Sociology STROZIER REFERENCE HM17 .T56 1996
Statistics
- Florida Statistical Abstract STROZIER READY REFERENCE HA311 .F55 (most recent)
- Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics. Provides some full-text and links and serves as an index to full-text data on microfiche in STROZIER Documents Mif ASI and SRI. Print versions: American Statistics Index (ASI) (1973-) STROZIER Documents Z7554 .U5 A46 and Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980 to present) STROZIER Documents Z7554 .U5 S79
- Social Trends and Indicators (2003)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-) On CD-ROM: STROZIER DOCUMENTS C3.134/7: (1993-)
Tests and Measurement
See the Tests and Measurement research guide.
- The Mental Measurements Yearbook STROZIER Reference Z5814 .P8 B932
- Testing and Standards: a brief encyclopedia STROZIER Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
- Tests in Print STROZIER Reference Z5814.E9 T47
Websites
Colleges and Universities
Guides
- A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace (Trinity University)
- SocioSite (University of Amsterdam)
- WWW Virtual Library: Sociology (McMaster University)
Biographies
- Dead Sociologists Society (Radford University)
Organizations
- Scholarly Societies in Sociology (University of Waterloo)
History
- Digital library of primary sources in American social history from antebellum through reconstruction compiled by University of Michigan & Cornell University.
Issues
- Social Science Information Gateway (University of Surrey)
Polls
- American National Election Studies (University of Michigan)
- General Social Survey (National Opinion Research Center)
- The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (University of Connecticut)
Statistics
- Bureau of Labor Statistics National Longitudinal Surveys (U.S. Department of Labor)
- FedStats (Gateway to U.S. federal government agencies' statistics)
- Population Studies Center (University of Michigan)
- Statistical Resources on the Web: Sociology (University of Michigan)
Theories
Help
- Sociology Liaison:

Bridgett Turnipseed
Head of Access Services
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-6810
bturnips@mailer.fsu.edu
