Gilded Age and Progressive Era
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
[edit]
Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings
- African-Americans—History
- Big business—Government policy—United States—History
- Capitalism—United States—History
- Capitalists and financiers—United States
- Corporations—United States—Growth—History
- Immigrants—Government policy—United States
- Industrial policy—United States—History
- Industrial relations—United States—History
- Industrialization—United States--History
- Industries—United States—History
- Labor movement—United States—History
- Labor policy—United States—History
- Labor unions—United States—History
- Political corruption—United States—History
- Populism—United States—History
- Presidents—United States—Correspondence
- Progressivism (United States politics)
- Railroads—United States—History
- Spanish-American war, 1898
- United States—Civilization—1865-1918
- United States—Economic conditions—1865-1918
- United States—Emigration and immigration
- United States—Foreign relations—1865-1921
- United States—History—1865-1921
- United States—Politics and government—1865-1900
- United States—Social conditions—1865-1918
- World War, 1914-1918—United States
[edit]
General Reference Sources
- American Historical Association. Writings on American history. Strozier Library Subbasement - Ask at Circulation Z1236 .W74 1902-1903; 1906-1961
- C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history, 1838-1974 Strozier Library Reference Z6205 .C18 v.1-11
- C. R. I. S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in political science, 1886-1974 Strozier Library Reference Z7161 .C18 v.1-8
- C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974 Strozier Library Reference Z7164.S68 C23 v.1-6
- Wall, C. Edward. Cumulative author index for Poole's index to periodical literature, 1802-1906 Strozier Library Reference AI3 .W3
[edit]
Specific Reference Sources
- African American history in the press, 1851-1899 : from the coming of the Civil War to the rise of Jim Crow as reported and illustrated in selected newspapers of the time: the Schneider collection. Gale, c1996. Strozier Library Reference E185.2 .A25 1996
- American third parties since the Civil War : an annotated bibliography. Garland, 1985. Strozier Library Reference Z7164.P8 A54 1985
- Bederman, Gail. Manliness & civilization : a cultural history of gender and race in the United States, 1880-1917. University of Chicago Press, 1995. Strozier Library HQ1075.5 .U6 B43 1995
- Buenker, John D. and Buenker, Joseph. Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era. Sharpe, 2005. On order for Reference
- Casper, Dale E. The progressive era in American politics : recent writings 1975-1983. Vance Bibliographies, 1984. Strozier Library Reference Z7164.A2 P8 no.1400
- De Santis, Vincent P. The Gilded Age, 1877-1896. AHM Pub. Corp. [1973] Strozier Library Reference Z1242.8 .D4
- Guttenberg, Albert Z. Environmental reform in the United States: the Populist-Progressive era and the New Deal. Council of Planning Librarians, 1969. Strozier Library Reference Z5942 .C6 no.85
- Link, Arthur Stanley and Leary, William M., Jr.. The progressive era and the Great War, 1896-1920. Appleton-Century-Crofts [1969] Strozier Library Reference Z1244 .L56
- Mehaffey, Karen Rae. Victorian American women, 1840-1880 : an annotated bibliography. Garland Pub., 1992. Strozier Library Reference Z7964.U49 M43 1992
- Papachristou, Judith. Bibliography in the history of women in the progressive era. Sarah Lawrence College, 1985. Strozier Library Reference Z7964 U49 P36 1985
- Woodward, David R. America and World War I : a selected annotated bibliography of English-language sources. Strozier Library Reference Z6207.E8 W67 1985
[edit]
Selected Microforms
- Film 8723 Radical pamphlet literature : a collection from the Tamiment Library, 1817 (1900-1945) 1970 Guide: Micr Z 7164 S67 T35 1974
- Film 8753 Green rising, 1910-1977: a supplement to the Southern Tenant Farmers Union papers. Guide: Micr Z5075 U6 S663 1971 sup.
- Film 9231 Papers of Eugene V. Debs, 1834-1945. Guide: Micr HX 84 D3 A3125 1983
- Film 9308 Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony. Guide: Micr HQ1413 S67 P37 1992
- Mif 1114 Presidential election campaign biographies, 1824-1972. Guide: Micr E 176.1 P892 I52
[edit]
Presidential Papers (If they exist, guides/indexes are listed below each entry)
- Film 649 President’s papers
- J66 -- Andrew Johnson -- Index: Micr LC4.7: J63
- G763 -- Ulysses S. Grant -- Index: Micr LC4.7: G76
- G231 -- James Garfield -- Index: Micr LC4.7: G18
- A788 -- Chester A. Arthur -- Index: Micr LC4.7: Ar7
- C635 -- Grover Cleveland -- Index: Micr LC4.7: C59
- Film 649 President’s papers (continued)
- H318 -- Benjamin Harrison -- Index: Micr LC4.7: H24/2
- M158 -- William McKinley -- Index: Micr LC4.7: M21
- R781 -- Theodore Roosevelt -- Index: Micr LC4.7: R67
- T124 -- William Taft -- Index: Micr LC4.7: T12
- Rutherford B. Hayes. Diary and letters… Strozier Library E682 H45 1922 v.1-5
- Woodrow Wilson. Papers. Strozier Library E660 W717 V. 1-63, 67-69. (volumes lacking to be ordered)
[edit]
Government Documents
- Congressional Record (Doc X)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (Doc S1.1: )
[edit]
Electronic Resources
(many with fulltext)
- Biographical Information on African Americans. 1790-1950
- America: History and Life (United States and Canada) and Historical abstracts (International coverage)
- Databases cover journals published 1954 to the present with selective coverage of earlier materials.
- Locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.
- History Cooperative (includes Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era)
- Integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history.
- Cumulates and continues: International index (and its predecessor titles), 1907-Mar. 1965; Social sciences & humanities index, Apr, 1965-Mar. 1974; Humanities index, Apr. 1974-Mar. 1984; and, Social sciences index, Apr. 1974-Mar. 1983.
- Indexes fulltext committee prints, hearings, House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, Serial Set, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports beginning in the 19th century.
- Making of the modern law: legal treatises 1800-1926. (Thomson-Gale)
- Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages.
- Readers' guide retrospective, 1890+ (WilsonWeb)
- US Congressional Serial Set , 1817-1980 (fulltext)
[edit]
Web Resources
- Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
- Statement of Purpose: To foster the study and understanding of the history of the United States during the period 1865-1917.
- H-SHGAPE (http://www.h-net.org/~shgape/ )
- H-SHGAPE Gilded Age and Progressive Era Resources
- Gilded Age and Progressive Era Resources
- Websites for the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
- Spanish-American War Historical Overview and Select Bibliography, by Michael J. Crawford, Mark L. Hayes, and Michael D. Sessions. Naval History Bibliographies, no. 5. 1998
[edit]
Help
- History Liaison:
Lucy Patrick
Head, Special Collections
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-6167
lpatrick@mailer.fsu.edu

