Higher Education
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
Higher education studies "prepare individuals for positions of leadership in colleges and universities and related agencies whose activities impact higher education" (FSU Higher Education Program).
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying higher education. It focuses on general resources, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- Education Index Retrospective & Education Full Text (1929 to present)
- Primarily indexes English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Some articles available in full text.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966 to present)
- Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
- Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
- Resources in Education (RIE)
- Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present)
- A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes cited reference searching.
Related Databases and Indexes
- ABI/INFORM Global (1971 to present)
- Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in business and management periodicals.
- A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- PsycInfo (1887 to present)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Social Sciences Fulltext (1983 to present)
- Print version: Social Sciences Index (1974/75-2003) STROZIER Reference AI3 .S62 (formerly Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1907-1974 STROZIER Reference AI3 .R49)
- Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
- Sociological Abstracts (1963 to present)
- Print version: Sociological Abstracts (1952/53 - 1998) STROZIER Reference Z7164 S68 S62
- Covers sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women’s studies.
Journals
Electronic Journal Resources
- Education e-journals (FSU)
- Directory of Open Access Journals in Education (Lund University, Sweden)
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education (American Educational Research Association)
Print Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Academe. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 A5121b
- Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 C4557
- Community College Journal of Research and Practice. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 C7344
- Community College Review. STROZIER Micromaterials Film PR 704; STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 C7342
- Higher Education. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 H63835
- History of Education Quarterly. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 H6731
- Journal of College Student Development. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 J8612
- Journal of Higher Education. STROZIER Micromaterials Film PR 1854; STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 J866
- NASPA Journal. STROZIER Micromaterials Film PR 1093; STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 N1114
- Research in Higher Education. STROZIER Micromaterials Film PR 1856; STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 R4325
- Review of Higher Education. STROZIER Periodicals 370.5 R4543
Newspapers
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Chronicle of Higher Education. STROZIER 370.5 C557
- Education Week. STROZIER 370.5 E24161
- Times Higher Education Supplement. STROZIER Micromaterials Film PR 364
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about higher education studies can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on higher education studies will be on the fourth floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on higher education. The majority of the 'L's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.
- L --- Education (General)
- LA --- History of Education
- LA 173-186 --- History of Education: Higher Education
- LB --- Theory and Practice of Education
- LB 2300-2430 --- Theory and Practice of Education: Higher Education
- LD 13-7251 -- Individual Institutions (United States): Universities and Colleges
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- College administrators
- College students
- College teachers
- Education, Higher
- Educational change
- Educational technology
- Educational tests and measurement
- Higher education and state
- Internet in higher education
- Universities and colleges
General Reference Works
When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.
Encyclopedias
- Education and Technology: An Encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB1028.3 .E17 2004
- Encyclopedia of Distance Learning. STROZIER 2005
- Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning. STROZIER Reference LC5211 .E52 2004
- Encyclopedia of Education. Electronic Resource (2nd ed., 2003)
- Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LC1569 .W66 2002
Bibliographies
- Distance Education: An Annotated Bibliography. Electronic Resource (1995)
- Distance Learning for Higher Education: An Annotated Bibliography. GOLDSTEIN Professional Z5814 .D54 F78 2002
Biographies
- Biography Resource Center. Electronic Database
Glossaries/Dictionaries
- The Cyclopedic Education Dictionary. Electronic Resource (1998)
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education. STROZIER Reference LC1099 .D53 1997
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education. STROZIER Reference LB15 .G68 2003
- Learning Theories, A to Z. STROZIER Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
Directories
- College Blue Book. STROZIER Reference L901 .C64 32nd ed., 2005
- Directory of American Scholars. Electronic Resource (10th ed., 2002)
- Gale Directory of Learning Worldwide: A Guide to Faculty and Institutions of Higher Education, Research and Culture. STROZIER L900 .G35 (2001)
- The Higher Education Directory. STROZIER Ready Reference L901 .H46 (most recent edition)
- The National Faculty Directory. STROZIER Reference L901 .N33 (2003)
- Peterson’s Directory of College and University Administrators. STROZIER Reference L901 .P47 (2003)
- The World of Learning. STROZIER Reference AS2 .W6 (most recent edition)
Guides
- Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. STROZIER Reference Z5811 .B89 2000
- Higher Education in the World. STROZIER Reference LC189.8 .H54
- Research Methods in Education. STROZIER LB1028 .C572 2000
- Research Methods in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative and Qualitative Approaches. STROZIER LB1028 .M3966 1998
Handbooks
- Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook. STROZIER Reference LB1028 .E3184 1997
Histories
- Historical Dictionary of American Education. Electronic Resource (1999)
- Historical Dictionary of Women’s Education in the United States. STROZIER Reference LC752 H57 1998
- International Dictionary of University Histories. STROZIER Reference LB2328.2 .I56 1998
Statistical Sources
- The Condition of Education. STROZIER Documents ED1.109 (1975 to present) (Electronic Resource: 2000 to present)
- Digest of Education Statistics. STROZIER Ready Reference ED1.326 (most recent edition); STROZIER Documents ED1.326 (1975 to present) (Electronic Resource: 1990 to present)
- Lexis-Nexis Statistical. Electronic Database
- Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics
- Projections of Education Statistics. STROZIER Documents ED1.120
Tests and Measurement
- The Mental Measurements Yearbook. STROZIER Reference Z5814 .P8 B932
- Testing and Standards: A brief encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
- Tests in Print. STROZIER Reference Z5814.E9 T47 2002
Theses and Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses. Electronic Database (citations and full text: 1861 to present)
- Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
- ETDs@FSU. (Electronic Database)
- Download the most recent Masters Theses and Dissertations from Florida State University published from March 2003 to the present.
- Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986 to 2003). STROZIER Reference Z5055 .U49 M3
Writing, Publishing
- Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration. STROZIER Reference Z286 .E3 .C37 7th ed. 2005-2006
- The Curriculum Vitae Handbook: How to Present and Promote Your Academic Career. STROZIER LB2331.72 .A58 1998; STROZIER Reference LB2331.72 .A58 1998
- Grant Writing in Higher Education: A Step-by-Step Guide. STROZIER LC241 .H46 2004
- How to Prepare a Dissertation Proposal: Suggestions for Students in Education and the Social and Behavioral Sciences. STROZIER LB2369 .K723 2005
Websites
General Education Resources
- Education Topics A to Z (U.S. Department of Education)
- Educator’s Reference Desk (Information Institute of Syracuse)
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (U.S. Department of Education)
- Gateway to Educational Resources (GEM) (U.S. Department of Education)
Colleges and Universities
- Peterson’s (profiles of U.S. colleges and universities)
Education Leadership & Policy
- National Center for PostSecondary Improvement (Stanford, U. Penn., U. Michigan)
- Postsecondary Issues (Education Commission of the States)
Government Agencies
- State Education Departments and Boards (State & Local Government on the Net)
Higher Education Resources
History of Education
- History and Archival Resources in Higher Education (Higher-Ed.org)
Organizations
Statistics
- Compendium of National Data Sources on Higher Education (State Higher Ed. Executive Officers)
- The Condition of Education (U.S. Department of Education)
- Digest of Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) (National Center for Education Statistics)
- International Archive of Education Data (Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research)
- Measuring Up: the National Report Card on Higher Education (National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education)
- National Center for Educational Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
- Projections of Education Statistics to 2013 (U.S. Department of Education)
- Statistical Resources on the Web: Education (University of Michigan)
Technology
Help
- Education Liaison:
Reference Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-1680
gcolvin@mailer.fsu.edu


