Interior Design
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
|
Introduction
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying interior design.
This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
- Art Full Text (Online: 1984-present / Print: 1929-1997) STROZIER Reference Z5937 .A78
- Indexes and abstracts 313 art publications from around the world. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- A multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
- Applied Science Full Text (1983- present)
- Abstracts of the latest findings in every area of science, engineering, and technology. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
- Avery Architectural Index (1930s - present)
- Contains records describing articles in over 1,000 architectural periodicals in the fields of architecture and related disciplines. Print version: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1876-1976) STROZIER Reference Z5945 .C653 1973.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (1988-present)
- BHA indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer’s catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Print predecessors: RAA (Repertoire d’Art et d’Archeologie) (1910-1963; 1965-1989) STROZIER Reference Z5937 .R4, and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) (1975 - 1989) STROZIER Reference N1 .R5.
- Index to art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century. The journal contents are indexed, including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.
- A product of the American Society of Interior Designers and the University of Minnesota, InformeDesign provides research summaries of design and human behavior research.
Related Databases and Indexes
- ABI/INFORM Global (1971-present)
- Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in business and management periodicals.
- ArtBibliographies Modern (1969-present) STROZIER Reference Z5935.A7
- A subject and name index to periodical articles, books and exhibition catalogs dealing with art and design since 1800.
- Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- PsycInfo (1887 to present)
- Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Journals
Links to electronic versions are provided if available.
- Architectural Digest STROZIER 720.5 A6735
- Interior Design STROZIER 740.5 I61
- Interiors DIRAC SCIENCE 640.5 I61
- Journal of Interior Design STROZIER 740.5 J86
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources about interior design can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.
When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.
When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on interior design will be on the fourth floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.
Library of Congress Classifications
The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on interior design. The majority of the 'N's are on the fourth floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.
- NA --- Architecture
- NK 1700-2195 --- Interior decoration. House decoration
- NK 2200-2750 --- Furniture
- NK 2775-2898 --- Rugs and carpets
- NK 2975-3049 --- Tapestries
- NK 3175-3296.3 --- Upholstery. Drapery
- NK 3375-3496.3 --- Wallpapers
Subject Headings
The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.
- Architecture
- Barrier-free design
- Color in interior decoration
- Dwellings
- Furniture
- Interior architecture
- Interior decoration
- Lighting -- Architectural and decorative
- Office buildings
- Store decoration
General Reference Works
When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.
Encyclopedias
- The Elements of Style: a Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present STROZIER Reference NA2850 .E44 1991
- Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction STROZIER Reference NA31.E59 1988
- Encyclopedia of Interior Design STROZIER Reference NK 1165.E48 1997
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Furniture STROZIER Reference NK 2205 .D5 2000
- Studio Dictionary of Design & Decoration STROZIER Reference NK 1165.S78 1973
Guides
- Applied and Decorative Arts: a Bibliographic Guide STROZIER Reference Z5956.A68 E47 1993
Bibliographies
- The Use of Color in Architecture and Interiors: Periodical Literature STROZIER Reference Z5941.A67 no. 2052 [1988]
- Historic Building Interiors: an Annotated Bibliography STROZIER Documents I 29.82: B86/ 1994
Handbooks
- Building Systems for Interior Designers DIRAC SCIENCE Library TH6014.B56 2003
- Fabrics: a Guide for Interior Designers and Architects DIRAC SCIENCE Reference TS1767.Y38 2002
- Interior Design Visual Presentation: A Guide to Graphics, Models, and Presentation Techniques STROZIER Library NK2113.5.M58 2004
- Interior Lighting for Designers DIRAC SCIENCE Library TK4175.G67 2003
- A Quick Start to AutoCAD for Interior Design Engineering Reading Room NK2114.T73 2000
Biographies
- Contemporary Designers STROZIER Reference NK1390.C655 1997
- The Facts on File Dictionary of Design and Designers STROZIER Reference NK 1165.J47 1984
- Who’s Who in Interior Design STROZIER Reference NK2004.2 .W48 2000/2001
Directories
Catalogs
- Contains over 50 million bibliographic records for books, journals, media, and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- In Expanded Search, select Loeb Design under Locations, to search the Francis Loeb Library of the Harvard Design School.
Histories
- Authentic Décor: The Domestic Interior, 1620-1920 STROZIER Library *oversize NK1860 T49 1984b
- A Century of Interior Design 1900-2000: a Timetable of the Design, the Designers, the Products, and the Profession STROZIER Library NK1980.A24 2003
- Twentieth-Century Decoration: The Domestic Interior from 1900 to the Present Day STROZIER Library NK1980.C34 1988
Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations and Theses. Electronic Database (citations and full text: 1861 to present)
- Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
- Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986-present) STROZIER Reference Z5055.U49 M3
Careers, Education, and Financial Aid
- Becoming an Interior Designer: a Guide to Careers in Design STROZIER Library NK2116.P56 2004
- Opportunities in Interior Design and Decorating Careers STROZIER Library NK2116.B3 2002
Websites
Help
- Art Liaison:
Faculty and Graduate Research Services Librarian Humanities Collection Development Specialist
Florida State University Libraries
850-644-7558
sclaytonemmerson@fsu.edu

