International Development

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact a Librarian

Marcia Gorin

Faculty and Graduate Research Services

645-2708

mgorin@fsu.edu

Sarah Buck Kachaluba

Humanities Librarian

645-1475

sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu

Reference Sources and Publications

Encyclopedia of World Poverty STROZIER Reference HV12 .E54 2006.

The Europa Directory of International Organizations STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection -- JZ4838.E97. Latest in Reference.

The Foundation Directory STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- AS911.A2F65.

Historical Dictionary of International Organizations STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- JZ4838.S34 1998.

Human Development Reports Print editions available in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (UNDP HDR <year>

Public Interest Group Profiles. STROZIER LIBRARY -- JK1118.P79. Latest in STROZIER Reference.

Report on the World Social Situation (United Nations Economic and Social Affairs) This report has identified social trends of international concern and provided in-depth analysis of major development issues. Issued biennially. Paper editions located in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (UNST SOA WRD)

State of the World's Cities (United Nations Human Settlements Programme UN-HABITAT) STROZIER DOCUMENTS--UNCHS CIT <year/yr.>

United States Government Manual Paper editions located in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (AE2.108/2:)

World Development Indicators (World Bank) Available at STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection -- HC59.15.W667.

World Economic and Social Survey (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs) Analysis of long-term social and economic development issues. Annual. Print editions available in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (UNST ECA SURVEY <year>)

World Economic Situation and Prospects Joint product of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and the five United Nations regional commissions. Print editions available in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (UNST ESA WESP <year>)

Yearbook of International Organizations Latest in STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- JX1904.A42.

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when searching the online FSU Library Catalog. To search by subject heading, go into "Advanced Search." There are two ways to search by subject heading using the advanced search feature.

The first is to use Option 1: Search by words. Type or paste the subject heading into the search box and select "Subject Heading" from the drop-down menu, then click the Go box. This search will call up a list of books with this subject heading

The second is to use Option 3: Search lists of titles, call numbers, etc. In this case, choose "Subject, LC" from drop-down box and type or paste the subject heading into the search box. This search will yield a list of subject headings that contains the subject heading you searched by, as well as more specific subject headings including the initial phrase.

[Sample] Subject Headings

Dependency

Developing countries

Development economics

Economic assistance

Economic development

Finance--developing countries

Free trade

Globalization

International cooperation

International economic relations

International agencies

International organization

Political development

Poverty

Pressure groups

Social problems

Urban policy

Women in development

Women--social conditions

In addition, a keyword search for USAID, will yield many online publications.

Major Databases and Indexes

See also International Studies Research Guide

Collection on Critical Global Issues 2.0 Developed in 1999 by United Nations University Press. It contains 210 publications (32,000 pages) in the fields of Agriculture and Land Management, Development, Environment and Sustainability, Food and Nutrition, Natural Resource Development, Science and Technology.

Contemporary Women's Issues Information on women in over 150 countries is compiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines associology, psychology, health, education and human rights from 1992.

Gale Directory Library

GenderWatch

Homeland Security Digital Library

UNBISNET (United Nations Bibliographic Information System)

World Development Indicators Statistical figures from the World Bank, including almost 600 development indicators going back to 1960 for over 200 countries and eighteen country groups include social, economic, financial, and more.

Websites

EarthTrends Environmental Information An online collection of information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

GlobalHealthFacts.org (Kaiser Family Foundation) Global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria and more.

International Organization for Migration Established in 1951, IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners.

International Organizations, Economic Development & Poverty Research Guide (University of California Berkeley Library)

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Poverty Net (The World Bank) Provides an introduction to key issues as well as in-depth information on poverty measurement, monitoring, analysis, and on poverty reduction strategies for researchers and practitioners.

Social Watch An international NGO watchdog network monitoring poverty eradication and gender equality.

USAID Documents

The World Bank

World Health Organization

World Institute for Development Economics Research of the United Nations University (UNU-WIDER)] The first research and training centre of the United Nations University (UNU), established in Helsinki, Finland in 1984. UNU-WIDER undertakes applied research and policy analysis on global development and poverty issues.

Below is a selective list of some of the United Nations websites that might be helpful.

Undata A world of information (statistics)

UNICEF

United Nations

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)

United Nations Development Policy and Analysis Division

United Nations Functional Committees and Expert Bodies

WomenWatch The central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system, including the United Nations Secretariat, regional commissions, funds, programmes, specialized agencies and academic and research institutions.

Views
Personal tools