International Statistics

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

Globe

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students needing international statistical information, including data about individual countries as well as the world as a whole.

This guide provides location information about general reference books, journals, documents and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials.

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.
Encylopedia Britannica’s database on current and past statistics on the countries of the world.
Political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories. Includes country comparative statistics on area and population, education, economics, finance and external trade. etc. Print version: Europa World Year book STROZIER Reference JN1 .E85.
Includes the Nations and World section, which includes Cities of the World, Countries and their Cultures, Countries of the World and their Leaders Yearbook and WorldMark encyclopedia of the nations.
Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics. Provides some full-text and links and serves as an index to full-text data on microfiche in STROZIER Documents Mif ASI, SRI, IIS. Print versions: American Statistics Index (ASI) (1973-) STROZIER Documents Z7554 .U5 A46, Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980-) STROZIER Documents Z7554 .U5 S79 and Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983-) STROZIER Documents Z7552 .I53.
  • SourceOECD The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). When complete, it will comprise 19 Studies by Themes, containing all OECD monographs and reports; 19 periodicals online; some reference titles online; and the OECD statistical databases online.
Business, trade and economic information, includes NTDB (Only available in the library and a librarian must log you in)
U.S. export and import information for over 18,000 commodities world wide. (Only available in the library and a librarian must log you in)
Covers arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computer, taxes and more.

Related Databases and Indexes

International statistics on production, trade, food balance sheets, producer prices, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, population, fertilizer and pesticides, food aid shipments, and more.
Provides access to over 46,000 abstracts of demographic information that was published in Population Index from 1986-2000. 1937-1985 is available in JSTOR.
Provides information on the working time laws of over 100 countries; covering laws on the health and well-being of workers and includes summaries of the working time laws in each country covered.

Journals

  • Bulletin of Labour Statistics STROZIER Periodicals HD4826 .B8.
  • International Financial Statistics STROZIER Periodicals 330.5 I614.
  • Monthly Bulletin of Statistics STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser.Q.

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about international statistics can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

When browsing the aisles, some books on international statistics will be on the third floor while others will be on the ground floor in the documents section. Media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles, however, in the ground floor documents section, many resources are organized by other classification systems. Please visit the ground floor reference desk for assistance in browsing the documents collection.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on international statistics. The majority of the 'HA's are on the third floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.

  • H --- General Social Sciences
  • HA --- Statistics
  • HA 175-4737 --- By Region or Country

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • (country name) -- Statistics
  • Industrial statistics
  • International finance -- Statistics
  • International trade -- Statistics
  • Medical statistics
  • Statistics
  • Statistics -- History
  • Vital statistics

General Reference Works

When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census STROZIER Reference HA37 .U55 C66 2000
  • International Encyclopedia of Statistics STROZIER Reference HA I7 .I63

Micromaterials

  • Current National Statistical Compendiums STROZIER Micromaterials Mif 865.
  • International Population Census Publications, Region, Asia. Country, Pakistan. Census Year(s), 1951, 1961 STROZIER Micromaterials Film 8193. Guide to film Micr Z7164.D3 R47 1979.
  • International Population Census Publications, Region, Latin America. Country, Mexico STROZIER Micromaterials Film 3608. Guide to film Micr Z 7164 D3 R47 1979.

Annuals and yearbooks, etc.

  • African Development Indicators STROZIER Reference HC800 .A1 A356
  • Background Notes STROZIER Documents S1.123: (many older studies are here for research purposes)
  • Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook STROZIER HF1014 .I52 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • CultureGrams (World edition) STROZIER GT150.C852 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • Demographic Yearbook = Annuaire Demographique STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser.R (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook STROZIER HF1016 .D52 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific STROZIER Documents UNE CN.11 Survey (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean STROZIER Documents UNE CN.12 Survey (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Energy Statistics Yearbook STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser.J (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • European Marketing Data and Statistics HA1107 .E87 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • Eurostat Yearbook STROZIER HA1107 .E89 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • Handbook of International Trade and Development Statistics (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) STROZIER Documents UNTD STAT (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Industrial Commodity Statistics Yearbook STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser. P.
  • International Financial Statistics: Country Notes STROZIER HG3881 .I628.
  • International Financial Statistics Yearbook STROZIER Reference HG1 .I612.
  • International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania STROZIER HA4675 .M55 1998. (Latest in STROZIER Reference)
  • International Historical Statistics Europe STROZIER HA1107 .M5 Latest in Documents Reserves.
  • International Historical Statistics: The Americas STROZIER HA175 .M88 Latest in Reference.
  • International Marketing Data and Statistics STROZIER HA42 .I56 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • International Trade Statistics Yearbook STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser. G (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Population and Vital Statistics Report STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser. A.
  • Statesman’s Yearbook STROZIER JA51 .S7 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • Statistical Abstract of Latin America STROZIER HA935 .S8 (Latest in STROZIER Reference)
  • Statistical Abstract of the Region of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia STROZIER Documents UNE ECWA STAT (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Statistical Yearbook STROZIER Documents UNST STAT Ser. S (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific STROZIER Documents UNE CN.11 STAT (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • Trends in Europe and North America: The Statistical Yearbook of the Economic Commission for Europe STROZIER Documents UNE ECE TSY (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • UNCTAD Commodity Yearbook STROZIER Documents UNTD ICS (Latest in Documents Reserves)
  • World Economic Situation and Prospects STROZIER Documents UNST ESA WESP.
  • World Economic Factbook STROZIER Reference HC59.15 .W67 (Latest in Ready Reference)
  • World Tables. (World Bank) Historical Statistics on the Countries of the World STROZIER Reference HC59 .W669.
  • Year Book of Labour Statistics STROZIER HD7802 .A348 (Latest in Reference)

Dictionaries

  • Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor STROZIER Reference HD4839 .D58 2004
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms: A Practical Resource for Students in the Social Sciences STROZIER Reference HA17 .K4 2003
  • Sage Dictionary of Statistics: A Practical Resource for Students in the Social Sciences STROZIER HA17 .C73 2004

Websites

Agencies and Statistical Offices

Contains links to statistical offices of foreign countries

Aging

Airports

Business

Children

Communications

Culture and communication statistics, including statistics on books and libraries.

Economics

Education

Elections

Energy

Official energy Statistics from the U.S. Government.

Environment

Foreign Aid

Historical record of U.S. foreign aid to the countries of the world.

General

Health

Justice

Labor

Life Expectancy

Literacy

Migration

  • World Migrant Stock (United Nations Population Division) 1960 to present, in five year intervals

Military

Minerals

Politics

Population

Poverty

Refugees

  • UNHCR Statistics (UN Refugee Agency) (Also has Statistical Yearbook on lower right side of page)

Religion

Telecommunications

Trade

Country profiles of over 175 countries from World Trade Press

Transportation

Transportation related activities among U.S., Canada and Mexico.

Help

  • Contact:

Image:Marcia_Gorin.jpg

Marcia Gorin
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-2708
mgorin@mailer.fsu.edu


Views
Personal tools