Iberian, Latin American, and Caribbean Studies
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
Contents |
Contact Information
Sarah Buck Kachaluba
Humanities Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
645-1475
Introduction
Iberian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies is a group of at least three interdisciplinary subject areas involving many countries (Spain, Portugal and autonomous regions such as the Basque country in the Iberian peninsula; at least 20 Latin American countries and at least 31 Caribbean ones), regions (Iberia, MesoAmerica, Central America, South America, and the circum-Caribbean basin), languages and cultures (Spanish, African, English, French, Portuguese, and Indigenous) and many subject disciplines, including anthropology, art and art history, history, economics, geography, international affairs, music, political science, religion, and sociology.
This research guide is intended for students and researchers in Iberian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies of all levels. It is broken into three parts: Iberian Studies, Latin American Studies, and Caribbean Studies. Each lists general resources related to Iberian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, including books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials. This research guide points to some outstanding and general points to begin inquiry into Iberian, Latin American and Caribbean studies. It is by no means comprehensive, but should help you get started on an Iberian, Latin American and/or Caribbean studies research project.
Related Guides
Guide to Searching and Accessing Library Resources
Finding Articles
Major Databases and Indexes
Fuente Academica is a periodical database for Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American publications. It provides PDF full text for 260 scholarly publications covering disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Not all of the journals included in the database are indexed the same way. Thus, some include author records (and can be searched by author), whereas others do/can not. From the “Basic Search” or “Advanced Search” screen, you can click on the “publications” link in the bar at the top of the screen (right under the Basic and Advanced Search tabs) to see which publications are indexed.
Please see specific subject guides for more databases for research in each area (Iberian, Latin American, and Caribbean Studies).
Finding Books & Media
Books and media resources related to Iberian, Latin American and Caribbean studies can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier. For tips on searching the catalog, please see the Guide to Searching and Accessing Library Resources. Please see more subject-specific research guides for call number ranges to aid you in browsing the aisles.
Media resources and government documents are found on the ground floor, with the former located in the Digital Media Center.
Some materials cited below can also be found in the Documents section (in the basement). Documents can be found in three different sections which are organized by different classification/call number systems: Dewey Decimal, Government (su) documents, and UN documents.
Microform Collections of Primary Sources
State Department Document Collections on Microform
Print Collections of Primary Sources (Mostly Government Documents)
U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. Hearings. STROZIER Documents Y4.F76/2:
U.S. Congress. Committee on International Relations. Hearings. STROZIER Documents Y4. In8/16:
US Department of State. American foreign policy: Basic documents, 1950-1955. STROZIER Documents S1.71: 117/v.1-2
US Department of State. Press Releases. STROZIER Documents S1.25:1929-37 (some gaps)
US Department of State. Bulletin. STROZIER Documents S1.3/5: <year>
US Department of State Dispatch. STROZIER Documents S13/5: <year> (Continues previous title)
Electronic access: US Department of State Dispatch
Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers(Print Version), STROZIER Documents Doc S1.1
This series, produced by the State Department, publishes documentation of major U.S. diplomatic and foreign policy events and processes. Included documentation comes from Presidential libraries, the Departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. The series began in 1861. Volumes are divided into ranges of years which are further divided into volumes organized by subject or region. Recent volumes (since the Truman administration) are available online (see below).
Foreign Relations of the United States (Electronic Version)
To access online versions of the text, click on the link to "on-line" in the sentence "Recent volumes are also available on-line," found in the last paragraph of the text on the center of the webpage.
The Statesman's year-book. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1864-
STROZIER LIBRARY. JA51 .S7 (Some volumes are in the sub-basement and must be requested at circulation). The latest edition is held at the Reference desk.
It is worth browsing through the government documents/ “sudocs” section (beginning with call number S1.1). Some of the collections in here include: Foreign Relations of the United States (listed above) (S1.1) Department of State Bulletin (S1.3) US Treaties and other International Agreements (S9.12) USAID (S17.2)
Reference Works
Please see specific subject guides for reference works in each area (Iberian, Latin American, and Caribbean Studies).
Websites
Please see specific subject guides for reference works in each area (Iberian, Latin American, and Caribbean Studies).

