Lucy Patrick
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
Head, Special Collections
Strozier Library, Room 110C
116 Honors Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306
Phone: (850) 644-6167
Fax: (850) 644-1221
Email: lpatrick@mailer.fsu.edu
[edit]
[edit]
Job Responsibilities
Head of the Special Collections Department.
- Special Collections includes the following: rare books, manuscripts, Napoleon and the French Revolution Collection, University Print and Photo Archives, Shaw Childhood in Poetry Collection, Florida Collection, and Scottish Collection.
- We provide assistance with identifying and using department materials; also class instruction in using special collections and archives, and identifying and using primary source materials.
- The department welcomes internship proposals from a variety of disciplines.
[edit]
Liaison Areas
[edit]
Education
- PhD - Humanities - Florida State University
- MLn - Librarianship - Emory University
- BA - Religion - Emory University
[edit]
Selected Work History
- Consultant - Georgia Department of Education - Division of Public Library Services
- Librarian - Georgia Department of Education - Division of Public Library Services
[edit]
Selected Publications
- Dissertation: Religion and revolution in the thought of Matilda Joslyn Gage (1826-1898)
- "The John Mackay Shaw Childhood in Poetry Collection." Florida Libraries vol. 49, no. 2 (Fall 2006): 13-15.
- Book reviewer for CHOICE.
[edit]
Professional Affiliations
- American Library Association (ALA)
- Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
- ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section
- ACRL Women's Studies Section
- Organization of American Historians (OAH)
- Southeastern Library Association
- North Florida Library Association
[edit]
Professional Interests
- 19th Century American history, especially women's history, the gilded age and progressive era
- Working with faculty to stimulate student interest in working with rare books and manuscripts
- Collaborating with faculty to develop digital projects based on materials in Special Collections
[edit]
Personal Interests
- Fiber arts

