Modern Languages

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact a Librarian

Image:Sarah_Buckkachaluba.jpg

Sarah Buck Kachaluba

Humanities Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-1475

sbuckkachaluba@mailer.fsu.edu

Introduction

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students of the Modern Languages (foreign languages and literatures) of Arabic, Asian, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Slavic, and Spanish and Portuguese peoples and cultures.

This research guide points to some outstanding and general points to begin inquiry into these Modern Languages. It lists books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU libraries. Such resources include reference tools and relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials. It is by no means comprehensive, but should help you get started on a Modern Languages research project in one of the languages listed above.

Related Guides

Searching For and Accessing Library Resources

General Resources

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals from 1975-


Arts & Humanities Search

Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Online version of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index


Francis

Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.


Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)

Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.


ITER Bibliography

The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.

Related Guides

Searching For and Accessing Library Resources

General Resources

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals from 1975-


Arts & Humanities Search

Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Online version of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index


Francis

Contains records from more than 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.


Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)

Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.


JSTOR

A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.


Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973-


Literature Resource Center

Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.


MLA Bibliography

Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present

Finding Books & Media

Arabic Language and Culture Resources

Useful Web Links

Asian Languages and Cultures Resources

Useful Web Links

French Language and Culture Resources

Databases

ARTFL

A compendium of French texts, mostly from the Renaissance-20th century.


Bibliotheque nationale de France

The French National Bibliography describes books and serials published, or distributed in France and received by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France through legal deposit. It contains a list of records sorted by a thematic and alphabetical classification author/title: a list of books and official publications, a list of serials. Books -- About 50,000 new titles or new editions are added annually. Serials -- Around 5,000 new titles a year: newspapers, journals, yearbooks and monographic series are added annually.


Useful Web Links

German Language and Culture Resources

Useful Web Links

Hebrew Language and Culture Resources

Useful Web Links

Italian Language and Culture Resources

Useful Web Links

Slavic Language and Culture Resources

Databases

Russian Academy of Science Bibliographies (RAS)

Describes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe


Useful Web Links

Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Cultures Resources

Databases

Fuente Academica

Fuente Academica provides PDF full text for 260 scholarly publications covering areas of academic study. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.


Handbook of Latin American Studies

Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings published worldwide.


HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index)

Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States from 1970-


eJournals

SUR, 1931-1992

One of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. This edition includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements (50,000 pages).


Useful Web Links

Views
Personal tools