More Links
From FSU Libraries Subject Pages
The English Department at Florida State University
Has information about faculty, courses being offered, and departmental events.
Modern Language Association
"Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy."
American Comparative Literature Association
Contains information about conferences, publications, and other resources related to Comparative Literature.
PennEnglish Calls for Papers
Many literature conferences and journals send calls for papers to this list-serv.
Voice of the Shuttle
The site was created in 1994 at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Includes over 70 pages of links to humanities and humanities-related resources on the Internet. Has sections on Literature in English, Literatures other than English, and Literary Theory.
Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples
Definitions of key terms found in literature.
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
Gives definitions, key terms, and short bibliographies.
Voices from the Gaps
The site is produced by the English department at the University of Minnesota and is still in the process of being created. Includes biographies, literary criticism, some multimedia, and some interviews of both African American women and black women from Africa, the Caribbean, and Europe.
Carlyle Letters Online
A fully digitized version of one of the finest and most comprehensive literary archives of the nineteenth century, the Carlyle Letters Online features thousands of letters penned by Scottish writer and historian Thomas Carlyle (1795–1881) and his wife, Jane Welsh Carlyle (1801–1866), two of the Victorian world’s most accomplished, perceptive, and influential members.
Victorian Studies Bibliography
Since 1933, the Victorian Bibliography has listed noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America, the Bibliography annually indexes over 400 journals, representing scholarship in a range of disciplines.
Digital Catalog of Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
A database of iconographic materials from Bibliotheque nationale de France's Department of Manuscripts (Département des Manuscrits). It gives access to the library's collection of illuminated manuscripts, a true visual encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.
