Multimedia

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Updated Spring 2009

Contents

Guides

Guides created by staff for using digital media equipment & software at Strozier Library.

Video Guides Audio/Image Guides Other Guides
Introduction to After Effects How to Capture Audio Using Sound Forge How to Make Your PDF Searchable
Simple Animation in Sony Vegas How to Use the Microphone for Voice Recordings How to Burn CDs or DVDs
How to Shoot, Edit and Burn a DVD on a Mac How to Dub an Audio Cassette Tape Strozier’s Digital Media Software
Printing to DV Tape with Sony Vegas Introduction to Adobe Illustrator Finding Videos Using the Library Catalog
How to Film Video with QuickTime Broadcaster How to Scan Slides Table of Contents in Word 2007
Creating Video Slide Shows How to Edit Images in Photoshop Page Numbering in Word 2007
How to Add DVD Subtitles Using Vegas and DVD Architect Photoshop Keyboard Shortcuts Faculty Video Collection: DVDs
Using Text in Sony Vegas How to Scan Pictures and Documents Faculty Video Collection: VHS Cass.
How to Capture, Edit & Render in Sony Vegas Training Pack: 2009
Vegas Keyboard Shortcuts
Adobe Exchange Adobe extensions, time-saving functions, code & more.
Sony Creative Software/Downloads See 'Sony loops and samples reference library...'

Technology News and Help

  • Ars Technica The PC enthusiast's resource.
  • B&H Largest non-chain photo/video equipment store in the U.S.
  • CNET Top technology news headlines.
  • New Media Consortium Cool Technology NMC is an international 501(c)3 not-for-profit consortium of more than 250 colleges, universities, museums, corporations, and other learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies.
  • OSGuide Guide to free and open source software.
  • Shambles/Web2 Resources for the Friendster Generation.
  • Slashdot Source for technology related news with a heavy slant towards Linux/Open Source issues.
  • SourceForge Secure, free Open Source directory.
  • Tech FAQ Technical answers answered in detail.
  • Tech-Recipes News and thousands of step-by-step tutorials.
  • TipsterWeb design and development tips.
  • Tom's Hardware The Internet's premiere resource for hardware news and reviews.
  • ViDEOHelp.com Forum, Guides, Tools, News & more.
  • Web Tools by Peter Forret Various very useful utilities.
  • Wired Reports on how technology affects culture, the economy, and politics.
FSU Technology Services Help Desk Set up your own website, general technology help & more.
Horizon Project Emerging technologies reports, 2004 - 2009.

Videos Online

  • American Field Guide A collection of public broadcast station programing that cover a wide variety of information about the American outdoors.
  • Annenberg Media Wide variety of educational films.
  • Auteurs Online Film Festival, Criterion Collection Each month, Criterion Collection curates a free online film festival on The Auteurs.
  • BBC Video Nation A collection of short videos created by viewers and listeners of the BBC.
  • Bill Moyers Journal Weekly online episodes of the public affairs series Bill Moyers Journal.
  • Classic Cinema Online Watch classic movies online free.
  • Discovery Channel Explore science, history, space, tech & more.
  • Docfera Large digital archives of Latin American documentaries.
  • Earth TV Watch LIVE videos and current videos from around the world.
  • Europa Film Treasures Films from 28 European film archives.
  • Folkstream A collection of documentary films about American folk or roots culture. Site contains full films for download/streaming, transcripts and teaching guides.
  • Frontline A large selection of streaming video.
  • History.com Hosted by The History Channel.
  • Hulu A large collection of online feature films, television shows, web video and documentaries.
  • Internet Archive Nonprofit organization established to preserve Web sites by taking regular "snapshots". The Wayback Machine provides links to older versions of a webpage.
  • Media That Matters Film Festival The films stream online in their entirety, broadcast nationally and are distributed on DVD to educators and activists.
  • Mefeedia One stop search for videos, TV, music, web shows and news from across the web - over 15000 sources.
  • Moving Images Collection Sponsored by the Library of Congress and the Association of Moving Image Archivists.
  • Mike Wallace Interview 65 recorded interviews made in 1957-58 from “The Mike Wallace Interview” show.
  • National Archives (NARA) in Google Video Content includes videos on NASA, the National Parks Service and WWII newsreels.
  • National Geographic View hundreds of free videos from National Geographic.
  • NOVA: Watch Online Selected NOVA programs available online. Programs are divided into chapters and closed captioned.
  • P.O.V. Video A variety of full length films, short films and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed non fiction film series P.O.V.
  • TEDTalks A collection of short speeches presented by a variety of acclaimed individuals at the annual TED conference.
Video 21: Tallahassee, FL Foreign, independent, cult, documentaries & more.
FSU Libraries Online Catalog, Advanced Search Format: Videos (all-formats) -> Click: Search Image:Star.png 
Leon County Public Library Check out audiobooks & video downloads section.

Reviews, Critical Resources

  • All Movie Film listings include general information, cast and crew, synopses, reviews & more.
  • CHOICE Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources. More>>
  • Educational Media Reviews Online Database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers.
  • F&H: Film & History An Interdisciplinary Journal of Film and Television Studies.
  • IMDb - The Internet Movie Database Award-winning movie site.
  • Film.com: Movie Reviews
  • Metacritic Compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, books, music, television and games.
  • Movie Review Query Engine Web site that aggregates film reviews from publications as diverse as, The New York Times to BBC Films to The Village Voice.
  • Rogerebert.com Widely read film critic.
  • Songlines World Music Magazine examines the world through its music, from West Africa, Cuba, the Balkans, Tibet & more.
eJournals: Film Image:Star.png
Film Review Annual, Journal' Image:Star.png
Film Review, Reference Collection Search' Image:Star.png

Reviews, Writing Tips

  • Provenance: What are the credentials of those presenting the video? Are their arguments supported by evidence, e.g. primary historical material, case studies, narratives, statistics, recent scientific findings?
  • Objectivity: Is the perspective even-handed or prejudicial? Is contrary data considered? Is certain pertinent information ignored?
  • Persuasiveness: What is the most or least convincing?
  • Value: Does the presentation ultimately contribute in any significant way to an understanding of the subject? Who might benefit from viewing this video?

Video Distributors

  • Ambrose Video A leading distributor of broadcast-quality documentaries and educational videos to schools, libraries and other institutions.
  • Kino International The Best In World Cinema - including European, Asian, Silent, and American Independent titles.
  • Bullfrog Films Leading US publisher of independently-produced, environmental DVDs & videos; come with educational and public performance rights.
  • California Newsreel Non-profit, U.S. educational film and video production and distribution center.
  • Documentary Educational Resources Films and videos in anthropology, ethnography, sociology and documentary.
  • Films For the Humanities & Sciences Supplier of educational media to schools, colleges and libraries.
  • Filmakers Library Documentary films that come with educational and public performance rights.
  • Green Planet Films Non-profit distributor of nature and environmental DVDs from around the globe.
  • Midwest Tapes Thousands of titles from years past and a broad selection of library audio-visual supplies.
  • Movies Unlimited Films on Blu-Ray, High Def, and Out of Print & more
  • National Film Board of Canada Hundreds of films free online - documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.
  • New Day Films Major distributor of social issues documentaries.
  • Outcast Films Media made about Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender community.
  • PBS: Videos One of the leading dot-org Web sites on the Internet.
  • Reel Stocks more than 85,000 movies for sale and 35,000 for rent. Videos and region 1 DVDs.
  • Reframe Helping individual filmmakers, broadcasters, distributors, public media organizations, archives, libraries and other media owners to digitize, market and sell work using the Internet. More>>
  • Video Publishers and Vendors -- the long list

Newly Released Videos

Hard To Find Videos

Commercial Streaming Services

Audio Online

  • American Rhetoric Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews & more.
  • Cr3ation b3ta Meta search engine designed to help you find free MP3s, powered by Dogpile, MP3Realm and Seeqpod search engines.
  • Digital Juice: Downloads Lots of Royal-Free audio & more.
  • EarthStation1 Comprehensive sound and picture archive of wavs, sounds and images of World War II.
  • Edison National Historic Site The archive at Edison National Historic Site includes approximately 48,000 disc and cylinder records produced by Edison in West Orange, New Jersey, between 1888 and 1929.
  • Find Sounds Search for sample sounds and sound effects at this file search engine. Offers directory, keyword and sonic similarity search functions.
  • goEar Escucha musica gratis, listen to free music. sube musica mp3, upload mp3 music. comparte musica, share mp3 music.
  • Last.fm Based on what you listen to, Last.fm recommends you new music.
  • Matrix Resources Lots of historical sound clips including Martin Luther King Jr., many US presidents, Thomas Edison, The Beatles, and many other...
  • National Sound Archive Catalogue Guide to searching the Sound Archive catalogue for recordings of popular music.
  • Pandora Personalized internet radio service that helps you find new music based on your old and current favorites.
  • Songbird An open-source music player. Project news, beta download, add-ons directory, and how to contribute.
  • The Sound Archive Offer sound files from some of our favorite movies and TV shows.
  • Sound Effects Archive One of the largest collections of free aound effects on the web.
Digital Media Center 'Interviewing Studio' available to FSU Community. Image:Star.png 
Leon County Public Library Check out audiobooks & video downloads section.

Audiobooks

  • LibriVox Provides free audiobooks from the public domain, nearly 1000 works.
  • Audio Books For Free Emphasis on classic works, but a decent amount of mystery, sci-fi, and thriller.
  • FreeClassicAudioBooks Not a large collction, but some big names.
  • ProjectGutenberg French, German, and other languages. And not just audio -- great site to explore.
  • Learn Out Loud Over 500 educational titles and offers a lot of video as well.
Leon County Public Library Check out 'Audiobooks & video downloads section'
Allen Music Library See map Here>> Image:Star.png 
Goldstein Library See map Here>> Image:Star.png

Podcast

  • Educational Podcast Network Computer, Dance, English, Language, Health, Information Skills, Math & more.
  • iTune Podcast Offers more than 100,000 audio and video podcasts from independent creators and big names like HBO, NPR, ESPN, The Onion, CBS Sports, and The New York Times.
  • NPR Podcast Directory Over 50 public radio stations and producers are working with NPR to bring you podcasting.
  • Odeo Find video & audio from thousands of sites.
  • Pluggd Search millions of clips and casts.
  • Podemus Le média du podcast audio et vidéo.

Images Online

  • About.com: Free Image Resources
  • American Art Archives Preserving the work of great Illustrators.
  • American Memory Project, Library of Congress Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  • Anatomia Approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy.
  • BibliOdyssey Visual Materia Obscura and Eclectic Bookart.
  • Dream Anatomy A National Library of Medicine Exhibit
  • European Library 2.0 Offers access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 20 languages. Resources can be both digital or bibliographical; books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.
  • Far and Wide: the Golden Age of Travel Posters Posters from the Golden Age of travel.
  • Florida Memory Photographic Collection over 154,000 digitized photographs from the State Archives of Florida.
  • Flickr Flickr contains user generated image databases that aren’t always accessible though google.images because of the way individual tag their work.
  • FSU Identify Collection: FSU Seal, template guides, color guides & more. Image:Star.png
  • Google Images It’s a good idea to click on “all image sizes” and limit your search this way depending on your individual needs.
  • Medieval Bestiary Website devoted to animals, both real and fictional, of the Middle Ages.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery Over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
  • Prado Museum Google Earth technology and Fine Art come together, magnifico!
  • Public Domain Image Resources Master wikipedia page at Meta, which lists a number of sources of public domain images on the Web.
  • Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials PALMM is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship.
  • Time LIFE Archive Online Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
  • The Yorck Project A treasure trove - many of the great masters, and many other pieces! All in the public domain and available in high resolution.
Cartography and Graphic Design Services Web page design, poster development & more.
Digital Media Center Digital Media Lab, instruction & more. Image:Star.png
Digital Library Large-format Printing/Scanning. Image:Star.png
Digital Library Online Collections Image:Star.png
FSU Libraries: Books, docs, journals, magazines, etc. Scanners are available. See map Here>> Image:Star.png
Printing, Mailing, & Postal Services Union Copy Center. They also do laminating.
Scanning Tips Tips on how to get the most from your scan projects.

Fonts Online

Citing Media

Citation, Multimedia: Ready-Reference Collection. Image:Star.png

Research & Scholarship

  • Answers.com Dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, bios, tech terms, news, sports, weather & more.
  • EndNote Bibliographies Made Easy, versions for Windows and Mac OS.
  • Google Scholar Search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
  • RefWorks Online bibliographic management program.
  • Wolfram|Alpha Uses built-in algorithms and growing collection of data to compute answers; sources provided.
  • Zotero Helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways.
 Cross-reference questionable material with scholarly, peer-reviewed resources.

Electronic Thesis and Dissertations

Open Source & Web-Based Solutions

Video Solutions

  • CamStudio Records what's happening on your computer monitor. More>>
  • Chroma Key Live Chroma Key Live is free realtime green-screen software. It generates a live key on your computer screen while you shoot with an attached camera.
  • Customize YouTube Embed Players
  • Downloadhelper Firefox addon; save videos from most popular video sites. Search for similar addons that work with your favorite browser.
  • DVD43 Free tool that integrates into Windows XP/2000/Vista and overrides DVD-Video copy-protection and DVD Region limitations. Note: See Copyright section at bottom of page.
  • DVD Flick Powerful DVD Authoring tool.
  • DVD Shrink Freeware for Microsoft Windows that facilitates backing up DVD movies. More>>
  • ePOP Video conferencing solution. Also see Stickam.
  • GSpot Reveals codec for specified video files. More>>
  • MEncoder Free command line video decoding, encoding and filtering tool. It can convert all the formats that MPlayer understands into a variety of compressed and uncompressed formats using different codecs. More>>
  • Processing Open source programming language used to program images, animation, and interactions.
  • RecordMyDesktop Captures audio-video data of a desktop session.
  • Super Simplified Universal Player Encoder & Renderer. Scroll to bottom of page
  • ScreenToaster Screentoaster does web-based, app-free screen recording. No download. Compatible with Windows, Mac OS X, Linux.
  • Time Adjuster Make subtitles to appear earlier or later, convert your subtitle files into other format, synchronize text with videos & more.
  • Video Bitrate Calculator Calculate raw, uncompressed video bitrate. Use it to compare to disk/ bus speed, bandwidth after lossy/ lossless compression, etc.
  • Video Thumbnails Maker
  • VLC Media Player Cross-platform media player, including .fla format. More>>
  • WinFF Free command line video converter; .mpeg, .flv, and .mov formats.
  • YouTube Uploader Upload lots of videos to YouTube at once.
Digital + Video Guide / How To / Tutorial and Article list -> Click Search
Commercial Video Production/Conversion Services In the Tallahassee Area.
Master copy of your digital video: AVI, 25 fps, 720x576.
Web copy of your digital video: MP4/WMV 320x240, MP4 x4 small. WMP needs decoder to play it.

Flash Resources

send us your recommendations

  • Cold Hard Flash Resource for all things Flash animation related.
  • Flasheezy Free flash files and tutorials.
  • Raven Create fully scalable vector art appropriate for logos or tee shirt designs.
  • UniFlip Convert from PDF to Flash 3D online magazines, catalogs, 3D online publications, z mags, e-zine, photo album, virtual documents.
  • Vecteezy Index of Free Vector Graphics available for download by some of the best artists around the world.
  • Wix Free Flash website builder & more.
Open Source Flash List of links to Open Source Flash projects.
Ultrashock Flash resource site for Creative Professionals.

Audio Solutions

  • Audacity Free software for recording and editing sounds in Linux, Mac OS X, and other operating systems.
  • MP3 Player Buttons Code to put a series of buttons on your web pages for any MP3 file.
  • Wavosaur Free sound editor, mastering, sample looping, sound designing, audio mangling etc.
Audioholics: Featured Reviews & Articles  Tips & Tricks to connecting your system.
TIP: The quality of microphone has greater effect on sound quality than quality of recording device.

Image Solutions

  • Adobe Photoshop Express
  • Airtight Viewers Free customizable image viewers for Photoshop.
  • Blender Cross platform suite of tools for 3D creation.
  • Brusheezy Custom Photoshop brushes and patterns.
  • ColorPic Popular free color picker software and create color palettes easily.
  • Comics Keep up with new things and new doodles in an easy way.
  • Context Free Generates images from written instructions called a grammar, outputs in video formats and SVG.
  • Cover Browser Galleries of 250000+ covers, from comic books to pulp to magazines.
  • DrawAnywhere Draw flowcharts, network diagrams, org charts & more.
  • Gapminder A motion graph for displaying statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.
  • IcoFX Freeware icon editor.
  • Iconza Free customizable icons for your web site.
  • Image Cropper/Resizer Free web-based image cool thingy.
  • Inkscape Vector Graphics Editor, similar to Adobe Illustrator, strives to be SVG Compliant.
  • Layers: Screen Forensics Screenshots of your monitor that display as a Photoshop layered image.
  • Mayang's Free Textures Texture library has over 3800 free to download, high-resolution textures.
  • OpenOffice.org Labels Templates Blank label templates for designing and printing labels, include CD and DVDs, Avery & more.
  • Percent Calculator Useful 3rd party print dialogue utility.
  • Phoenix From basic image retouching to complex effects, Phoenix delivers the key features of a desktop image editor with the simplicity and accessibility of a web-based application. Also see Picnik.
  • Photopeach Web-based app lets you arrange photos like a video, background music, captions, effects, & more.
  • Pose Maniacs Variety of poses for nude sketching.
  • ProRealtour Use your photos to create professional online tours.
  • Shape Collage Free photo collage maker software program. Automatically create picture collages in a variety of shapes with just a few mouse clicks.
  • Stripe Generator Generate seamless striped background images with ajax diagonal stripes background designer.
  • TinyPic.com Free Image Hosting, photo sharing & video hosting.
  • Vintage Wallpaper
  • yED Graph editor that can be used to quickly and effectively generate drawings and to apply automatic layouts to a range of different diagrams and networks.
Drawn! The Illustration and Cartooning Blog.
Graphic Artists Guild Handbook Copyright, contracts, pricing, trade practices & more.
Pre-Press Checklist Hosted by allianceprinting.net.

Text & Document Solutions

  • Best 80 Photoshop Text Effects on the Web
  • EditGrid Free web-based online spreadsheet which allows you to create and share spreadsheets documents.
  • FontForge An outline font editor.
  • Google Docs Free web-based word processor and spreadsheet, share and collaborate online. Also see Adobe Buzzword.
  • Google: Language Tools Translate webpages or just text that you type in.
  • Issuu Turns your documents into beautiful online publications.
  • OpenOffice 3.0.1 OpenOffice provides a great alternative to existing commercial office suites, includes word processor, spreadsheet, presentation & more.
  • PDFEdit Free editor for manipulating PDF documents.
  • TABLEIZER! A quick tool for creating HTML tables out of spreadsheet data.
  • Romanization Translate non-latin based writing system into a roman system.
  • YourFont Allows you to turn your handwriting into a font.
  • Zoho Write, share, collaborate.
Typeface Font usage, layout, theory & more.

Social Networking & Information Sharing

  • Blogger Free blog publishing tool from Google for easily sharing your thoughts with the world.
  • Collection of PHP Calendars Scripts & more.
  • Code Style Answers key questions for Web developers.
  • Context Free Generates images from written instructions called a grammar. The program follows the instructions in a few seconds to create images that can contain millions of shapes.
  • Craigslist Provides local classifieds and forums for jobs, housing, for sale, personals, services, local community, and events. Also see upcoming set to monitor 'Event Guide' for Tallahassee, Florida.
  • CSS Template Generator More amazing web design resources.
  • Doodle Helps scheduling meetings and other appointments.
  • Florida State University Libraries Search Gadget Customize and click 'get code' at the bottom of the page.
  • Free PHP Form Maker There are lots of the these on the web, google it.
  • Google: Submit Your Site Add/update your site to the Google index.
  • Google Webmaster Central One-stop shop for webmaster resources that will help you with your crawling and indexing questions.
  • Google Voice Free online service links all of users' phones — and even transcribes voicemails.
  • GRSites.com Amazing web design resources.
  • JavaScript Information Visualization Toolkit (JIT) Amazing javaScript.
  • Kompozer Web authoring system that has an integrated FTP client, an intuitive tabbed user interface, and support for all major operating systems.
  • Kontactr One-click free contact form service.
  • Maltego Allows for the mining and gathering of information as well as the representation of this information in a meaningful way.
  • Mebeam Free instant live video chat with up to 16 people.
  • Meebo Cross-compatible chat program. More>>
  • Mindomo Create, edit mind maps, and share them with your colleagues or your friends.
  • Notepad++ More>>
  • Online Web Tools and Code Generators Generators, code snippets, downloads, updates, tools & more.
  • Pageflakes Personalized social networking homepage maker. Also see netvibes and protopage.
  • PDFescape Free .pdf editor & .pdf form filler.
  • PHP Widely-used general-purpose scripting language, can be embedded into HTML.
  • Phonevite Sending reminders and alerts, with your own voice, is easy and simple using Phonevite.
  • Quarkbase Free tool to find complete information about a website.
  • Quimble Polling made easy.
  • Rainlendar Customizable desktop calendar.
  • Shrink2One Converts multiple links into one small (shrinked) link.
  • Skydeck Online cell phone.
  • Skype Make free voice and video calls to anyone else on Skype, call landlines and mobile phones at pretty low rates.
  • SlideShare Share and find presentations. Share publicly or privately. Add audio to make a webinar.
  • StumbleUpon Discovers web sites based on your interests, learns what you like and brings you more.
  • Surveymonkey Tool to create and publish custom surveys in minutes, and then view results graphically and in real time.
  • Thinkfree Access to files, share with colleagues and friends anytime, anywhere.
  • UserVoice Adds structure to user feedback by offering an easy to use website widget.
  • W3C CSS Validation ServiceFinds errors and potential problems in Cascading Style Sheets.
  • Webpages as Graphs an HTML DOM Visualizer Applet. (must start with http://)
  • WinCalendar Customizable Calendars for Windows, Word and Excel...
  • Yourminis Widgets for your blog, website, startpage, and desktop.
Mashable Social networking news.

Pda's, Handhelds, Mobile Technologies

send us your recommendations

Handhelds.org
Mobile Technologies in Libraries How the academic library is using pda's, handhelds and other mobile technologies.

Assessment & Web Development Solutions

  • 7 Zip Free zip/unzip utility, formats 7z, ZIP, GZIP, BZIP2 and TAR are supported fully, other formats can be unpacked.
  • Dabbledb Create a simple database.
  • Filemail Free solution to send large size files to anyone. You can send upto 2gb size files with filemail.
  • Gotossh.com A Web Based SSH Client.
  • Komodo Edit Supports nearly any dynamic language you can think of: JavaScript, XML, Perl, PHP, Python, Ruby and, of course, HTML.
  • Scriptomizers Web-based app generates html, css and javaScript code including tables, iframes, prompts and css styles & more.
  • SmartFTP FTP (File Transfer Protocol) client.
  • MediaFire Free file hosting made simple. Upload and share docs, pdfs, etc...
  • phpBB Fully scalable, highly customizable open-source bulletin board/forum solution.
  • WASSAIL Generates sophisticated customized assessment reports, database-driven, web-based application employing PHP, MySQL, and Javascript/AJAX technologies.
000webhost.com Free domain hosting, PHP hosting, hosting with MySQL & more.
Guide For Unix-type File Permissions
VandelayDesign Great web design resources.
Webdesignerdepot More great web design resources.

Networking and Delivery Utilities

  • ChunkIt! Searches the contents hidden behind the links on any Web page to extract the valuable "chunks" of information that really matter.
  • Dropbox: FSU Community File storage, must have FSUID. Image:Star.png
  • Quanta Features include multi-document interface, WYSIWYG editing and templates.
  • TinyURL.com Free URL redirection service. Turns a long URL into a much shorter one.
Listservs
  • AMIA-L Sponsored by the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA).
  • InfoCommons listserv Discussion of issues relating to the planning, implementation, assessment, and support of information commons facilities that integrate the resources and services of libraries with enhanced information technology. List subscribers are also welcome to explore corollary topics when discussed in the specific context of IC management, such as information literacy, learning communities, faculty development, and facility design.
  • MEMORIAV Preserving the Audiovisual Heritage.
  • VIDEOLIB) & VIDEONEWS Listservs administered by UC Berkeley - anything concerning videos in education.

Miscellaneous Utilities

  • InfraRecorder Open source CD and DVD burning software for Windows.
  • Readability A tool that makes reading on the Web easier by removing the clutter around what you're reading; Step one: select your settings, step two: add to your browser.
  • SpeedCrunch Fast, high precision desktop calculator.

Media Equipment at FSU

  • Center for Teaching and Learning: Media Center Full Service Media Center are provided to faculty for instruction in academic courses bearing regular FSU course numbers.
  • College of Education, Learning Resource Center Available for students and faculty of the FSU College of Education. The LRC provides support services as well as lab facilities, study rooms, multimedia equipment, and classroom facilities.
  • College of Information Located in the Goldstein Library, some media equipment available to those in the CI department.
  • Communications Department: Media Production Program Media equipment may be available to those in this department, contact the "Equipment Checkout Room" at 644-3772.
  • Computer Science Department [No URL] Media equipment may be available to those in this department, contact someone there at 644-4029.
  • Department of Modern Languages and Linguistics, Language Lab. [No URL] This lab handles all audiovisual materials required for the study of foreign languages. Contact: 644.4572 or 644.8396, 104/130 Diffenbaugh.
  • Film School, Research and Resource Center Provides access for FSU Film students to recorded and printed materials for student and faculty research projects.
  • History Department Computer Services Media equipment may be available to those studying in the History Department; they have laptop computer, LCD projector, DVD/VCR player, speakers & more.
  • Laptop Checkout at Strozier Library These laptops must stay in the building but provide Wireless internet access and printing for a 4-hour loan period when you need it. Image:Star.png
  • Office of Telecommunications Handles the Universities telephones, datalines, and cable television, and offer telecommunication facilities which are available to the FSU community for a fee.
  • Seminole Productions Seminole Productions provides a variety of services to campus departments.
  • Technology Enhanced Classrooms, Classroom Support Offers FSU faculty electronic equipment in a classroom...
  • University Communications Provides services for photographing events, photo developing, and digital delivery.
Projector 123 Commercial projector rental, netflix style.
Borrowlense Rent cameras, lenses, tripods, and other accessories by mail.

Copyright Resources

Copyright & Fair Use Interactive Charts and Tools.

Sample Copyright Policies & Guides

Preservation Guides

IMPORTANT

Validating Public Domain or Fair Use or other Copyright concerns is the responsibility of the user.
Cross-reference questionable material with scholarly, peer-reviewed resources.
Questions? Contact us, or other Librarian Subject Specialist, or use Ask Us Now virtual chat.

Contact Us

Image:Cmccann.jpg


Image:Emmerson.jpg


Views
Personal tools