Philosophy Databases

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Arts & Humanities Search
Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Online version of ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index.


Gale Virtual Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.


Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective and Humanities & Social Sciences Full Text
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.


Index Islamicus
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. An effective overview of what has been published since 1906 in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense. Index Islamicus includes extensive indices of names and subjects carefully geared to this rapidly expanding field of study.


Iter Bibliography
The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.


JSTOR
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.


Past Masters
Intelex's Past Masters series is one of the largest collections of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. FSU has access to their extensive database on the history and philosophy of science, as well as other philosophical works.


Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion and science. Philosopher's Index covers from 1940 to present.


Project Muse
http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals (Mirror server if link above is not working)

Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-)


Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic encyclopedia published as a project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University. In a dynamic encyclopedia, each entry is maintained and kept up to date on a routine, frequent basis by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Views
Personal tools