Political Science Databases

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Access UN
Index to United Nations Documents and Publications from 1948 on.

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Countrywatch
Political and economic surveys and online updates of the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental news of the countries of the world.

Congress.org
Identifies contact information for elected leaders in Congress, the White House, state legislatures and more.

CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.

CQ Weekly
A complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and more. Full-text coverage from October, 1983 to the present. Paper copies located in the Documents Collection of Strozier Library (320.5 C111)

Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)
Classified Government Documents as they are declassified.

Digital National Security Archive
The most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.

Europa World
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. It includes detailed surveys of over 250 countries and territories, a comprehensive listing of over 1,650 International Organizations, access to economic and demographic statistics, and essential names and addresses and other information covering such areas as the constitution, government, legislature, politicalorganizations, diplomatic representation, religion, the media, finance, trade, industry, transport and tourism.

FedSpending.org
Created by OMB Watch, this database informs citizens where federal money is spent and who is spending it.

GovBudget.com
How the U.S. Government Raises and Spends $3 Trillion Per Year.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.

iPOLL Databank (Roper Center)
IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full text database of 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.

JSTOR
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years. Some journals that are included are: American Journal of Political Science, 1973+
American Political Science Review, 1906+
British Journal of Political Science, 1971+
Comparative Politics, 1968+
Foreign Policy, 1970+
International Affairs, 1944+
Journal of Politics, 1939+
Political Science Quarterly, 1886+
Public Opinion Quarterly, 1937+

Lexis Nexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic provides full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics.

Lexis Nexis Academic Shortcut to mostly News Information

Lexis Nexis Academic Research Help shortcut
Shortcut to topics for research in the Lexis Nexis Database.

LexisNexis Congressional
Lexis Nexis Congressional provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC)Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Serial Set Index (1789-1969).

Oxford Scholarship Online
A cross-searchable library containing the full-text of over 1,100 in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

PAIS International
Materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States (GODORT)
State wikis highlighting the best sites for government information; created and updated by government documents librarians.

UN Treaty collection
Includes online versions of the print publications: Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, which incorporates the detailed status of over 485 multilateral treaties, and: (United Nations) Treaty series, which contains the texts of over 30,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate, for those treaties registered with the Secretariat.

United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)
Catalogue of UN publications and documentation indexed by the United Natiions Dag Hammarskjold Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are non-UN publications held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library.

Views
Personal tools