Public Health

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact information

Image:Marcia_Gorin.jpg

Marcia Gorin

Reference and Government Documents Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-2708

mgorin@fsu.edu



Image:Burt5.jpg

Burt Altman

Librarian/Certified Archivist

Florida State University Libraries

645-7962 baltman@fsu.edu


Services

Ask Us Now!

  • IM a Librarian
  • Other ways to contact reference librarians


Research Consultations

  • More in-depth help for individual or group projects, theses and dissertations

Guides

Finding Books and Media

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when searching the online FSU Library Catalog. To search by subject heading, go into "Advanced Search." There are two ways to search by subject heading using the advanced search feature.

The first is to use Option 1: Search by words. Type or paste the subject heading into the search box and select "Subject Heading" from the drop-down menu, then click the Go box. This search will call up a list of books with this subject heading

The second is to use Option 3: Search lists of titles, call numbers, etc. In this case, choose "Subject, LC" from drop-down box and type or paste the subject heading into the search box. This search will yield a list of subject headings that contains the subject heading you searched by, as well as more specific subject headings including the initial phrase.

[Sample] Subject Headings

Communicable diseases

Epidemiology

Environmental health

Environmentally induced diseases

Foodborne diseases

Health policy

Health promotion

Health risk assessment

Long Term Care Facilities

Managed care plans (Medical Care)

Medical economics

Medical statistics

Occupational diseases

Public health

Public health surveillance

Social medicine

Toxicology

World health

Reference Sources and Publications

America's Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-being Strozier Documents PR 43.8:C 43/C 43/2007.

Chronology of Public Health in the United States. Dirac Science Library RA445 .W75 2005.

FDA ConsumerProvided in-depth information on how to get healthy and stay healthy. Although the magazine stopped publishing in April 2007, many articles continue to be updated online Strozier Documents HE20.4010:<date>

FDA Enforcement Report Information on actions taken in connection with FDA regulatory activities. Some years also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.4039:<date>

Florida Annual Cancer Report Strozier Documents Fla-Doc HEA1. R36 <year>

Health, United States (United States Department of Health and Human Services) Strozier Documents HE20.7042/6: <year>

National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals (CDC and DHHS)

Journals

Below is a very short list of public health periodicals. There are many more journals in our collection and in the Libraries' databases. Please ask for assistance in identifying more journals.

Subject Headings in Health & Biological Sciences Look for journals on various aspects of public health under "public health"

American Journal of Public Health :JPH DIRAC SCIENCE LIBRARY Periodicals 3rd Floor -- 610.5A5129.

BMC Public Health

CDC Public Health Law News A monthly e-mail digest of current, worldwide news stories, court opinions, announcements and special features related to public health law and legislation. Available by free subscription.

Communicable Disease and Public Health

Emerging Infectious Diseases STROZIER Documents HE20.7817:

Environmental Health Perspectives STROZIER Documents HE20.3559:

Epidemiological Journal (World Health Organization) Also in Dirac Science Library 610.5 E63 v.1(1980)-v.26(2005)

Florida Public Health Review A joint electronic publication of the University of South Florida College of Public Health (USF COPH) and the Florida Public Health Association (FPHA)

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) STROZIER Documents HE20.7009:

Preventing Chronic Disease (CDC)

Public Health Reports(archived issues) Also available in Strozier Documents HE20.30:

Major Databases and Indexes

CINAHL with full textCovers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present.

CQ Researcher Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.

Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts Published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management, this database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene from 1981-

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980 - Present. Use to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.

Homeland Security Digital Library Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.

Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective) Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

InfoTrac OneFile Search humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics from 1980-

Lexis Nexis Congressional Universe Lexis Nexis Congressional provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC)Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824-Present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Serial Set Index (1789-1969).

MEDLINE Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more from 1989.

PAIS International Indexes materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

PubMed PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.

Social Sciences Citation Index A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Click the box next to "Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1956-present" to limit the search to this index.

Federal Government Websites and Databases

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry A federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.

Data & Statistics (CDC)

CDC Health & Safety Topics

CDC Wonder Provides a single point of access to a wide variety of public health reports and data systems, both local and external, categorized here by topic.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Community Health Status Indicators(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) Provides an overview for key health indicators for local communities.

Epidemiology Branch (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)

Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins Handbook This handbook provides basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins. Joint effort from the Food & Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service, and the National Institutes of Health.

Healthy People 2010 Provides a framework for prevention for the Nation. It is a statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.

Household Products Database Learn about the composition of the products in your home and their potential health effects and safety and handling. (National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine)

Injuries, Illnesses and Fatalities (United States. Bureau of Labor Statistics)

Medicare The official U.S. government site for people with Medicare.

National Center for Health Statistics

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.Helps to prevent work related illnesses and injuries.

National Toxicology Program (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) This interagency program evaluates agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Office of Public Health and Science (OPHS) The Office of Public Health and Science (OPHS) is comprised of 12 core public health offices and the Commissioned Corps, a uniformed service of more than 6,000 health professionals who serve at HHS and other federal agencies.

PandemicFlu.gov

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.

Pesticides Health and Safety (EPA)

The Reports of the Surgeon General

Risk Assessment Portal (EPA)

The Toxic Substances Hydrology Program Provides objective scientific information on environmental contamination to improve characterization and management of contaminated sites, to protect human and environmental health, and to reduce potential future contamination problems.

Toxics Inventory Release (EPA) Publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities.

U.S. Government Accountability Office This Office helps to improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.

Florida Government Websites

Epidemiology (Florida Department of Health)

FDA Food CodeA model that assists food control jurisdictions at all levels of government by providing them with a scientifically sound technical and legal basis for regulating the retail and food service segment of the industry (restaurants and grocery stores and institutions such as nursing homes). Also available in STROZIER Documents HE20.4002: F73/27/1995-2001.

Florida Cancer Registry Program (Florida Department of Health)

Florida CHARTS (Community Health Assessment Research Tool Set)

Florida Influenza Surveillance Reports (Florida Dept. of Health)

FloridaHealthFinder.gov Information on medical conditions.

FloridasHealth.com (Florida Department of Health)

Maps

Environmental Health WebMaps Create a map to inform you of the environmental health of your community or state. (U.S. National Center for Environmental Health)

Risk Assessment Portal (EPA) To discover the risk assessment likelihood of your community or state.

Microforms

The Lillian Wald papers. Includes correspondence, articles, reports, and ephemera which chronicle Wald's activities as a pioneer in 20th century American public health nursing, the women's movement, and social reform. STROZIER Micromaterials Film 9711 and guide in Micr HQ1439.N6L555 1992.

Organizations

Federal Health Information Centers and Clearinghouses The Federal Government operates many health clearinghouses and information centers that focus on specific topics. Their services include distributing publications, providing referrals, and answering inquiries. Many offer Web sites or toll-free numbers.

Florida Public Health Association

Kaiser Family Foundation A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health.

Websites

Centers for Health Preparedness A national network of academic institutions working in collaboration with state and local public health departments and other community partners to provide life-long learning opportunities to the public health workforce, in order to handle the next public health crisis. Funded by the CDC.

EarthTrends Environmental Information An online collection of information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.

FDA Notices of Judgment Collection, 1906-1963A digital archive of the published notices judgment for products seized under authority of the 1906 Pure Food and Drug Act.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

GlobalHealthFacts.org (Kaiser Family Foundation) Global data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria and more.

Public Health Preparedness Database (Rand Health Project)

Public Health Resources on the Web

Resource Guide for Public Health Preparedness A gateway to freely available online resources related to public heath preparedness. Resources include expert guidelines, factsheets, websites, research reports, articles, and other tools aimed at the public health community. Sponsored by the New York Academy of Medicine.

Statistical Resources on the Web University of Michigan Library.

State-by-State Snapshots (United Health Foundation)

Statehealthfacts.org (Kaiser Family Foundation)

2007 State Snapshots (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)

World Health Organization

Views
Personal tools