Recreation and Leisure

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

Recreation and leisure studies prepare students to provide and promote leisure opportunities for all citizens through the management of programs, land and facilities in various community environments.

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying recreation and leisure. It focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

Citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in business and management periodicals.
Includes abstracts of articles from more than 6,000 publications and thousands of other documents on all aspects of leisure, tourism, hospitality and recreation.
Includes indexing, abstracts, and some full text from journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Subject index to domestic and foreign periodicals that are published in English. Coverage includes dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports medicine, physical fitness, rehabilitation, and sport psychology.
  • SportDiscus (citations: 1949 to present; full text: 1985 to present)
Indexes the world's practical and research literature dealing with all sport and fitness disciplines, including dance.

Related Databases and Indexes

Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
  • Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
  • Resources in Education (RIE)
Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Includes cited reference searching.
Print version: Sociological Abstracts (1952/53 - 1998) STROZIER Reference Z7164 S68 S62
Covers sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women’s studies.

Journals

Electronic Journal Resources

Print Journals

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

  • British Journal of Teaching Physical Education STROZIER 370.5 B8623
  • Perceptual and Motor Skills STROZIER 150.5 P428

Newspapers

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about recreation and leisure can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

When browsing the aisles, the majority of books on recreation and leisure will be on the third floor, while the media resources will be on the ground floor in the Digital Media Center. The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on recreation and leisure. The majority of the 'G's are on the third floor. Additional materials (such as government documents, micromaterials, media, and reference books) may be found on the ground floor and the first (main) floor.

  • GV --- Recreation, Leisure
  • GV 181.35-181.55 --- Recreation Leadership, Administration of Recreation Services
  • GV 182-182.5 --- Recreation Areas and Facilities
  • GV 191.2-200.66 --- Outdoor Life
  • GV 201-555 --- Physical Education and Training
  • GV 561-1198.995 --- Sports
  • GV 1199-1570 --- Games and Amusements

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • Exercise
  • Family recreation
  • Games
  • Leisure
  • Parks
  • Physical education and training
  • Recreation
  • Recreation leadership
  • Sports
  • Teamwork (Sports)

General Reference Works

When an item's location line reads STROZIER Reference, then the item is located on the first (main) floor of Strozier Library and can only be used in the library. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Documents, then the item is located on the ground floor. When an item's location line reads STROZIER Ready Reference, then the item is located at the first (main) floor reference desk.

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports. STROZIER Reference GV567 .E49 (1977-)
  • Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America. STROZIER Reference GV53 .E53 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Sports Science. STROZIER Reference GV558 .E53 1997
  • Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present. STROZIER Reference GV567 .E56 1996
  • International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. STROZIER Reference GV709 .I58 2001

Biographies

  • The Encyclopedia of 20th Century Athletes. STROZIER Reference GV 697 .A1 M355 2001
  • Great Athletes. STROZIER Reference GV697 .A1 G68 2002

Glossaries/Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of Sports. STROZIER Reference GV567 .C85
  • Dictionary of Sports Idioms. STROZIER Reference GV567 P28 1993

Directories

Guides

  • The Book of Rules: A Visual guide to the Laws of Every Commonly Played Sport and Game. STROZIER Reference GV731 .B56 1998
  • Physical Education Sourcebook. STROZIER Reference GV223 .P476 1996
  • Research Methods in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative & Qualitative Approaches. STROZIER LB1028 .M3966 1998
  • Unique Games and Sports Around the World: A Reference Guide. STROZIER Reference GV1201.38 .U55 2001

Handbooks

  • Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook. STROZIER Reference LB1028 .E3184 1997
  • The Educator's Desk Reference: A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Resources. STROZIER Reference LB1028.27 .U6 F74 2002
  • The Florida Education Handbook. STROZIER Reference LA258 .F56 (1998)

Statistical Sources

Provides access to many state, federal, and international statistics

Tests and Measurement

  • Florida Teacher Certification Examination Test Preparation Guides. STROZIER Documents Fla-Doc EDU8 .C36
  • The Mental Measurements Yearbook. STROZIER Reference Z5814 .P8 B932
  • Testing and Standards: A brief encyclopedia. STROZIER Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
  • Tests in Print. STROZIER Reference Z5814.E9 T47 2002

Theses and Dissertations

Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master’s theses and foreign language dissertations. Dissertations completed since 1997 are available in fulltext.
Download the most recent Masters Theses and Dissertations from Florida State University published from March 2003 to the present.
  • Masters Abstracts (1962-1985) and Masters Abstracts International (1986 to 2003). STROZIER Reference Z5055 .U49 M3

Websites

Colleges and Universities

General Education Resources

Government Agencies

Organizations

Physical Education Resources

Statistics

Help

  • Education Liaison:

Image:Gloria_Colvin.jpg

Gloria Colvin

Reference Librarian
Florida State University Libraries
850-645-1680
gcolvin@mailer.fsu.edu


Views
Personal tools