Religion Databases

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Acta Sanctorum
Electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in 68 volumes. This collection of rare documents examines the lives of saints, organized according to each saint’s feast day, and runs from the volumes published in 1643 to 1940.


L’Annee Philogique
All aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity: ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy from the second millenium B.C. through the early middle ages (c. 500-800 A.D.).


ATLA Religion
Comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. 1949-date.


ATLAS (ATLASerials)
Contains the digitized, full-text archives for over 80 journals (with more being added) dealing with the academic study of religion and theology.


eHRAF
A unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Try starting your search by browsing cultures by region or by browsing the subject categories.


EthnicNewswatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals relating to ethnic, minority, and native cultures.


Gale Virtual Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Includes Encyclopaedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Buddhism, Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of LGBT History in America, Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, Encyclopedia of Religion, Historical Atlas of the Islamic World, and the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture


Humanities and Social Science Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Does contain some religion-related sources.


Index Islamicus
International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. An effective overview of what has been published since 1906 in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense. Index Islamicus includes extensive indices of names and subjects carefully geared to this rapidly expanding field of study.


Index of Christian Art
The Index of Christian Art is the largest database of medieval art in existence with full-text records for over 23,000 works of art dating from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400. There are over 20,000 bibliographic records and over sixty thousand images in this database.


Iter Bibliography
The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.


JSTOR
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.


MLA Bibliography
(Literature Resource Center) Multilingual Index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present.


Past Masters
Intelex's Past Masters series is one of the largest collections of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. FSU has access to their extensive database on the history and philosophy of science, as well as other philosophical works.


Patrologia Latina
Electronic version of the first edition of Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1955, with indexes. It encompasses the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian to 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.


Project Muse
http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals (Mirror server if link above is not working)

Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-)

Views
Personal tools