Russian History

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students looking for information about Russian History.

This guide focuses on general reference books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU Libraries. It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.

Contact a Librarian

Image:Sarah_Buckkachaluba.jpg

Sarah Buck Kachaluba

Humanities Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-1475

sbuckkachaluba@mailer.fsu.edu


Image:Marcia_Gorin.jpg

Marcia Gorin

Reference and Government Documents Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-2708

mgorin@fsu.edu

Related Guides

Slavic Studies

Guide to Searching For and Accessing Library Materials

Useful Web Pages

Selected FSU Libraries Primary Fulltext E-Resources

Major Databases and Indexes

See also International Studies Research Guide

Project Muse Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-)

Helpful examples of subject headings in Project Muse:
  
  Europe, Eastern -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989.   
  Nationalism and communism -- Europe, Eastern -- History -- 1945-1989.
  Social stratification -- Russia (Federation) -- History -- 20th century 
  Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- 1945-1991   
  

JSTOR A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.

Russian Academy of Science Bibliographies (RAS)
Describes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe

Journals

Print Journals

Communist Affairs

STROZIER PERIODICALS 330.5 C7342 (Strozier holds print issues from 1962-1968).

Communist and Post-Communist Studies

STROZIER PERIODICALS 320.5 S933 (Strozier holds print issues from 1994-2005 and has electronic access from 1995 to the present in Science Direct).
Electronic Journals

Communist and Post-Communist Studies

STROZIER PERIODICALS 320.5 S933 (Strozier holds print issues from 1994-2005 and has electronic access from 1995 to the present in Science Direct).

Journal of Cold War Studies.

(Strozier has electronic access from Winter 1999 to the present in Project Muse).

Revolutionary Russia

(Strozier has electronic access from 1988 to the present in InformaWorld)

Vestnik the journal of Russian and Asian studies

(Strozier has electronic access from 2005 to present)

Newspapers

Pravda (Правда)

(In Cyrillic, Available in English translation: Film NP 25E)
STROZIER MICROMATERIALS Film NP 25. Mar 1917-1958 1961-1978 1989-Jan 4, 2003

Pravda Index

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials AI21.P81
Holdings:v. 1 (1986)-v. 2 (1987)

Ekonomicheskaia
Soviet Union Economic conditions, and economic history

STROZIER MICROMATERIALS Film PR234 1923-1930

Izvestia Sovetor Duputator

STROZIER MICROMATERIALS Film NP 24. 1917-1954 1964-1980

Novoe Vremia

STROZIER MICROMATERIALS Film NP 289. 1843, 1896-1898, 1900-1905

Online News

ITAR-TASS
The successor to the Soviet TASS, ITAR-TASS is the largest news agency in Russia. In addition to current news, ITAR-TASS also offers access to pictures of the latest breaking developments. Text is in cyrillic.

Lenta
This is by far one of the most comprehensive and informative news sites on the Internet. It includes access to constantly updated full-text news from various Russian, independent, and international information agencies. Text is in cyrillic.

The Moscow Times
English language online newspaper.

RIA Novosti
English language online newspaper.

St. Petersburg Times
English language online newspaper.

Finding Books & Media

Books and media resources about Russian history can be found in two main ways: by searching the online FSU Library Catalog and by browsing the aisles at Strozier.

When searching the online catalog, a basic search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. An advanced search will let you search by a combination of these fields, as well as by format, language, location, and date. Searching by the subject headings listed below may also be helpful.

The Library of Congress classifications listed below may be helpful when browsing the aisles.

Library of Congress Classifications

The following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing the shelves at Strozier Library for additional materials on Russian History

  • DK 1-949.5 --- History of Russia, Soviet Union, Former Soviet Republics
  • HX 1-970.9 --- Socialism, Communism, Anarchism

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when searching the online FSU Library Catalog. To search by subject heading, go into "Advanced Search." There are two ways to search by subject heading using the advanced search feature.

The first is to use Option 1: Search by words. Type or paste the subject heading into the search box and select "Subject Heading" from the drop-down menu, then click the Go box. This search will call up a list of books with this subject heading

The second is to use Option 3: Search lists of titles, call numbers, etc. In this case, choose "Subject, LC" from drop-down box and type or paste the subject heading into the search box. This search will yield a list of subject headings that contains the subject heading you searched by, as well as more specific subject headings including the initial phrase.

[Sample] Subject Headings

Cold War

Dissenters -- Soviet Union

Russia (Federation) -- Foreign relations -- United States.

Russia -- History -- 1237-1480

Russia -- History -- 18th century

Soviet Union -- Foreign Relations

Soviet Union -- History -- 20th century

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

Post communism -- Former Soviet Republics

Print collections of Primary Sources

See Sources in this section of the International Studies Guide

Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. Soviet Union (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials PREX7.10:FBIS-SOV/Index Accompanied by Microfiche in PREX7.10: FBIS-SOV

Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. Soviet Union (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials PREX7.10:FBIS-EEU/Index Accompanied by Microfiche in PREX7.10: FBIS-EEU

Microform Collections of Primary Sources

(If they exist, Guides/Indexes are indicated below each entry)

These are just a few of the many microform sets we own on this topic. See a librarian for help in locating other titles in microform.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union foreign affairs, 1945-1949.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8540.
Accompanied by guide Micr DK 267 L419.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8541.
Accompanied by guide in Micr DK 267 L419.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1950-1954 and foreign affairs, 1950-1954.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9211.
Accompanied by Guide in Micr DK 266 A3 G83.

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-29.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 2130.
Accompanied by guide in Micr AE1.119: M316.'

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-29.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 2125.
Accompanied by guide in Micr AE1.119: M333.

U.S. military intelligence reports the Soviet Union, 1919-1941.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9108.
Accompanied by guide in Micr DK266 A3 U58 1984.

OECD economic surveys. Russian Federation
(1995, 1999/2000-2001/2002, 2006)

LAW LIBRARY Micromaterials Mif 420 Russia


Maps

Perry-Castaneda Library Map collection (University of Texas)

The Federation of East European Family History Societies Map Library

See a librarian for help in locating maps and atlases from the Libraries' collection.

Websites

Alexander Palace Time Machine
Portal to websites on Russian History

Documents in Russian History
Produced by Seton Hall University's Russian and East European Studies Program

Background Note Russia
U.S. Department of State profile on Russia

The American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies
"The American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS), a nonprofit, non-political, scholarly society, is the leading private organization in the world dedicated to the advancement of knowledge about the former Soviet Union (including Eurasia) and Eastern and Central Europe. The AAASS supports teaching, research, and publication relating to the peoples and territories within this area."

Views
Personal tools