Slavic Studies

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Contact a Librarian

Image:Sarah_Buckkachaluba.jpg

Sarah Buck Kachaluba

Humanities Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-1475

sbuckkachaluba@mailer.fsu.edu


Image:Marcia_Gorin.jpg

Marcia Gorin

Reference and Government Documents Librarian

Florida State University Libraries

645-2708

mgorin@fsu.edu

Introduction

This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and graduate students studying Slavic Studies. Slavic Studies is an interdisciplinary subject area which involves many countries (including former members of the soviet union) and many subject disciplines, including anthropology, art and art history, language and literature, history, economics, geography, international affairs, music, political science, religion, and sociology.

This research guide points to some outstanding and general points to begin inquiry into Slavic studies. It lists books, journals, and online resources available at the FSU libraries. Such resources include reference tools and relevant Library of Congress classifications and subject headings to help researchers find additional materials. It is by no means comprehensive, but should help you get started on a Slavic studies research project.

Related Guides

International Studies

Political Science

Searching For and Accessing Library Materials

Russian History

Finding Articles

Major Databases and Indexes

See also International Studies Research Guide

Project Muse Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993-)

Helpful examples of subject headings in Project Muse:
  Russia (Federation) -- Politics and government -- 1991- 
  Europe, Eastern -- Politics and government -- 1989- 
  Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- 1985-1991.   
  Estonia -- Politics and government -- 1991-
  Former Soviet Republics

JSTOR A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.

Journals

Print Journals

California Slavic Studies

STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection DK4 .C33

Communist Affairs

STROZIER PERIODICALS 330.5 C7342 (Strozier holds print issues from 1962-1968).

Communist and Post-Communist Studies

STROZIER PERIODICALS 320.5 S933 (Strozier holds print issues from 1994-2005 and has electronic access from 1995 to the present in Science Direct).

Communist Viewpoint

STROZIER PERIODICALS 330.5 C733 (Strozier holds print issues from 1969 to 1989).

Slavic and East European Journal

STROZIER PERIODICALS 405 A111 (Strozier holds print issues from 1955 to 2007 and has electronic access from 1957-2004 in JSTOR).

Slavic Review

STROZIER PERIODICALS 050 A5129 (Strozier holds print issues from 1941 to the present and has electronic accesss from 1961-2006 in JSTOR).

Soviet Law and Government

STROZIER PERIODICALS 914.705 U12 (Strozier holds print issues from 1964-1992).

Russian Life

STROZIER PERIODICALS 914.705 U12 (Strozier holds print issues from 1993 to the present and electronic access from 1994 to the present in Expanded Academic ASAP).

Electronic Journals

Communist and Post-Communist Studies

STROZIER PERIODICALS 320.5 S933 (Strozier holds print issues from 1994-2005 and has electronic access from 1995 to the present in Science Direct).

East European Politics and Societies

(Strozier has electronic access from 1986 to 2008 in Sage Political Science.)

Journal of Southern Europe and the Balkans.

(Strozier has electronic access from 1999 to the present in InformaWorld).

Journal of Cold War Studies.

(Strozier has electronic access from Winter 1999 to the present in Project Muse).

Russian Life

STROZIER PERIODICALS 914.705 U12 (Strozier holds print issues from 1993 to the present and electronic access from 1994 to the present in Expanded Academic ASAP).

Slavic and East European Journal

STROZIER PERIODICALS 405 A111 (Strozier holds print issues from 1955 to 2007 and has electronic access from 1957-2004 in JSTOR).

Slavic Review

STROZIER PERIODICALS 050 A5129 (Strozier holds print issues from 1941 to the present and has electronic accesss from 1961-2006 in JSTOR).

News

Newspapers

Pravda (Правда)

(In Cyrillic, Available in English translation: Film NP 25E)
STROZIER MICROMATERIALS Film NP 25. Mar 1917-1958 1961-1978 1989-Jan 4, 2003

Pravda Index

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials AI21.P81
Holdings:v. 1 (1986)-v. 2 (1987)

Online News

ITAR-TASS
The successor to the Soviet TASS, ITAR-TASS is the largest news agency in Russia. In addition to current news, ITAR-TASS also offers access to pictures of the latest breaking developments. Text is in cyrillic.

Lenta
This is by far one of the most comprehensive and informative news sites on the Internet. It includes access to constantly updated full-text news from various Russian, independent, and international information agencies. Text is in cyrillic.

The Moscow Times
English language online newspaper.

RIA Novosti
English language online newspaper.

St. Petersburg Times
English language online newspaper.

Finding Books & Media

Print collections of Primary Sources

See Sources in this section of the International Studies Guide

Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. Soviet Union (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials PREX7.10:FBIS-SOV/Index Accompanied by Microfiche in PREX7.10: FBIS-SOV

Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. Soviet Union (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials PREX7.10:FBIS-EEU/Index Accompanied by Microfiche in PREX7.10: FBIS-EEU

Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. Eurasia (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials PREX7.10:FBIS-SOV/Index Accompanied by Microfiche in PREX7.10:FBIS-SOV

Microform Collections of Primary Sources
(If they exist, Guides/Indexes are indicated below each entry)

These are just a few of the many microform sets we own on this topic. See a librarian for help in locating other titles in microform.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union foreign affairs, 1945-1949.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8540.
Accompanied by guide Micr DK 267 L419.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1945-1949.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8541.
Accompanied by guide in Micr DK 267 L419.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files the Soviet Union internal affairs, 1950-1954 and foreign affairs, 1950-1954.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9211.
Accompanied by Guide in Micr DK 266 A3 G83.

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-29.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 2130.
Accompanied by guide in Micr AE1.119: M316.

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-29.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 2125.
Accompanied by guide in Micr AE1.119: M333.

U.S. military intelligence reports the Soviet Union, 1919-1941.

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9108.
Accompanied by guide in Micr DK266 A3 U58 1984.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files Poland, 1945- 1949

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9130
Accompanied by guide in Micromaterials DK4429 .H95 1986

Confidential U.S. State Department central files Poland, 1950-1954

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9129
Accompanied by guide in Micromaterials DK4429 .C651 1986

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Austria-Hungary and Hungary, 1912-29

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9173
Accompanied by guide in Micromaterials AE1.119: M708

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Hungary, 1930-1944

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9120

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Poland, 1916-1944

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9220

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Romania, 1910-1944

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9159

(While Romanian is a Romance Language the Study of Romania is often placed under the umbrella of Slavic Studies)

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Yugoslavia, 1910-29

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8851

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Yugoslavia, 1930-1944

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 8850

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Czechoslovakia, 1910-1944

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9223

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs Ukraine, 1918-1949

STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9229

Maps

Perry-Castaneda Library Map collection (University of Texas)

See a librarian for help in locating maps and atlases from the Libraries' collection.

Library of Congress Classifications

Subject Headings

The following subject headings may be useful when searching the online FSU Library Catalog. To search by subject heading, go into "Advanced Search." There are two ways to search by subject heading using the advanced search feature.

The first is to use Option 1: Search by words. Type or paste the subject heading into the search box and select "Subject Heading" from the drop-down menu, then click the Go box. This search will call up a list of books with this subject heading

The second is to use Option 3: Search lists of titles, call numbers, etc. In this case, choose "Subject, LC" from drop-down box and type or paste the subject heading into the search box. This search will yield a list of subject headings that contains the subject heading you searched by, as well as more specific subject headings including the initial phrase.

[Sample] Subject Headings

Baltic States

Cold War

Dissenters -- Soviet Union

Estonia

Former Soviet Republics

Georgia (Republic) -- Politics and government -- 1991

Georgia (Republic) -- Strategic aspects

Latvia

Lithuania

Political Science -- Soviet Union

Post communism -- Former Soviet Republics

Russia (Federation) -- Relations -- Georgia (Republic)

Slavic Countries

Soviet Union

Soviet Union -- Foreign Relations

Reference Works

The CIS handbook
edited by Patrick Heenan and Monique Lamontagne ; advisers, Ronald J. Hill, Bogdan Szajkowski.Published: London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1999.

Call Number: HC336.27 .C58 1999

Environmental Performance Reviews.
Monographs prepared by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Separate reports on various countries such as: Lithuania, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Slovenia, Uzbekistan, Romania, Albania, etc.

Call number: Doc UNE ECE EPR <no.>

Encyclopedia of the Cold War
Thomas S. Arms. Author: Arms, Thomas S. Published: New York, NY : Facts on File, c1994.

Call Number: D843 .A668 1994

Encyclopedia of Russian History
James R. Millar, editor in chief. Published: New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2004.

Call Number: DK14 .E53 2004

Electronic Version of the Encyclopedia of Russian History

An Ethnohistorical dictionary of the Russian and Soviet empires Edited by James S. Olson ; Lee Brigance Pappas and Nicholas C.J. Pappas, associate editors. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.

Call Number: DK33 .E837 1994

Great Soviet Encyclopedia
A. M. Prokhorov, editor in chief. Published: New York : Macmillan, [c1973-

Call Number: AE5 .B58

Guide to the republics of the former Soviet Union
David T. Twining. Author: Twining, David Thomas Published: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.

Call Number: DK293 .T85 1993

The Modern encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet history
(Continues after 1993 as the The Modern encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet and Eurasian history)
edited by Joseph L. Wieczynski. Published: Gulf Breeze, Fl : Academic International Press, 1976-1993.

Call Number: DK14 .M6

The USSR in 1989 : a record of events
compiled by Vera Tolz ; edited by Melanie Newton ; foreword by Vladimir G. Treml. Author: Tolz, Vera Published: Boulder : Westview Press, 1990.

Call Number: DK286 .T65 1990

Who was who in the Soviet Union : a biographical dictionary of more than 4,600 leading officials from the central apparatus and the republics to 1991 edited by Ulrich-Joachim Schulz-Torge. Published: München ; New York : K.G. Saur, 1992.

Call Number: DK290 .W49 1992

Who was who in the USSR; a biographic directory containing 5,015 biographies of prominent Soviet historical personalities.
Compiled by the Institute for the Study of the USSR, Munich, Germany. Edited by Heinrich E. Schulz, Paul K. Urban [and] Andrew I. Lebed. Author: Institut zur Erforschung der UdSSR Published: Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1972.

Call Number: CT1212 .I57

Websites

Alexander Palace Time Machine

Country Studies (The Library of Congress)
Paper editions in the Documents Area of Strozier Library (D101.22:550-)

Documents in Russian History (Seton Hall University)

REENIC: Russian and East European Network Information Center (University of Texas)

Russia on the Net
Portal to websites on Russia. The site provides a general search box, as well as subject links to sources in Arts and Culture, Business, Entertainment and Recreation, Computers and Internet, News and Media, Science and Education, and Government and Legislation, among others.

Russian and East European History (Tennessee Tech)

Russian and Eastern European Studies Guide (Grand Valley State University)

Slavic and East European Language Research Center (SEELRC, Yale University)
Webliographies for Russian and Eastern European countries.

The World Wide Web Virtual Library for Russian & East European Studies
Site provided by the Center for Russian & East European Studies and the University Center for International Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. Offers keyword or guided subject, region, cultural area, or time period searches, as well as a calendar of global events concerning concerning Russia & Eastern Europe. Such searches bring the user to lists of other web resources.

Views
Personal tools