Tests and Measurement

From FSU Libraries Subject Pages

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction

This guide is designed to facilitate the study and use of tests and measurement in psychology, education, business, and related fields.

Commercially published tests are not included in the FSU Libraries' collections due to use and copyright restrictions. However, unpublished tests (not available from a publisher) may be found in databases, books, and micromaterials. Information about published tests, including reviews, is also available through various resources.

Finding Unpublished Tests

Databases and Indexes

Limit your search to "Questionnaire/Scale" in Publication Type.
  • Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures Strozier Library Reference Z5814.P8 G64 (1974-1997) and Z5814.P8 G642 2001 (Index)
In the entries, look under "Format" for the note "all items presented." Then, check the FSU catalog to see if we have the cited journal and volume.
Limit your search to "tests/questionnaires" in the Publication Type field.
In Advanced Search, search for "survey".
In Advanced Search, search the "Anywhere" field for "test/survey".

Books

Tip: Go to Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences and search by test title to identify which book a test is located in. Then, search the online FSU Library Catalog for the book.

  • Assessing Alcohol Problems: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers Strozier Documents HE20.8308/2:4/ 2003
  • Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Administration, Norms, and Commentary Dirac Library RC386.6.N48 S67 2006
  • Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments Dirac Library RA407.C65 1998 (Accompanying media shelved at Circulation.)
  • Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques Strozier Library HQ728.T68 2001
  • Handbook of Geriatric Assessment Dirac Library RC953 .G34 2006
  • Handbook of Marketing Scales Strozier Library Reference HF5415.3.B323 1999
  • Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement Strozier Library and Goldstein Library Reference H62.M44 2002
  • Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures Strozier Library HQ60.H36 1998
  • Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences Strozier Library LB3051.L4543 2000
  • Measurement of Nursing Outcomes Dirac Library RT85.5.M434 2001
  • Measures for Clinical Practice and research: A Sourcebook Strozier Library Reserves BF176.C66 2007
  • Measures of Political Attitudes Strozier Library JA74.5 M43 1999

Micromaterials

  • Tests in Microfiche Strozier Library Mif 440 (1975-1989, Sets A-O)
This microfiche collection has unpublished tests for counseling, business, and education. Indexed in "Tests in Microfiche: Annotated Index" (Strozier Library Micromaterials Z5814 .E9 E32)and in "The ETS Test Collection catalog" (Strozier Library Micromaterials Z5814 .E9 E321). An online index is also available at Ohio State University's EHS Library.

Finding Information About Published Tests

Using the Online Catalog

The following subject headings may be useful when browsing the online FSU Library Catalog. To browse by subject heading, select Subject from the Browse Organized Lists drop-down menu, type the subject heading in the search box, then click the Go box.

  • Educational tests and measurements
  • Intelligence tests
  • Personality tests
  • Psychological tests
  • Psychometrics
  • Vocational interests testing

The word "testing" may be used as a Subject Keyword in Advanced Search with other keywords about your topic. The name of the test may also be used.

Databases

ETS indexes published and unpublished tests that are in ETS's Test Collection. Tests in Microfiche (previously mentioned) is a small subset of the more than 20,000 tests indexed; however, at this time there is no way to limit your search to only microfiche. The Availability field provides a journal article citation or contact information for a publisher, individual, or other source (including Tests in Microfiche).

Journals

Links to electronic versions are provided if available.

Books

  • Commissioned Reviews of 250 Psychological Tests Strozier Library BF176 .C65 2000
  • Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research Libraries Strozier Library LB3051 .D564 2001
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook Strozier Library Reference Z5814.P8 B932 (1940-2005)
Besides a review, MMY typically provides an acronym, age level, length of time to take the test, scores (variables measured), author, publisher, and price. An online guide to using MMY is at http://www.unl.edu/buros/bimm/html/howtommy.html.
  • Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing Strozier Library Reference LB3051 .A693 1999
  • Test Critiques Strozier Library Reference BF176.T419 (1984- )
Entries in these 10 volumes include information on administration, scoring, interpretation, validity and reliability and covers psychological, educational and business-related tests. Volumes 3- 10 have a cumulative subject index.
  • Testing and Standards: A Brief Encyclopedia Strozier Library Reference LB3051 .W4966 2002
  • Tests in Print (TIP) Strozier Library Reference Z5814.E9
The latest edition lists all currently available, commercially published tests and contains a description, including price (if available), and ordering information. The publishers of the tests hold the copyright and may have restrictions on use.
TIP also serves as an index to previous Buros Institute publications. Many entries in TIP have a "Cross References" section with notations such as the following:
7: 1 10 refers to test entry 110 in the 7th edition of Mental Measurements Yearbook.
T2:542 refers to test number 542 in Tests in Print I..
P:262 refers to test 262 in Personality Tests and Reviews.
Some of the same information is available online at http://www.unl.edu/buros/, and a guide to using the print version is at http://www.unl.edu/buros/bimm/html/howtotip.html.

Websites

Help

Views
Personal tools