You are here

Borrowing Materials

Related links: Laptops | Media and Technology Loans | Fines

Who Can Borrow?

FSU Community
Members of the FSU community are granted borrowing privileges with their current FSU Card. 
See the FSU Card Center if you do not have a current FSU Card.
Forgot your card? We can issue a temporary card for the day with proper ID. (limit two days per semester, $5.00 fee if not returned within 24 hours)

  • Undergraduate students currently registered for classes
  • Graduate students currently registered for classes
  • Faculty with appointments
  • Visiting faculty and researchers with an appointment from an FSU department
  • Adjunct faculty only while actively teaching courses
  • Full time staff
  • OPS employees
  • Retired FSU faculty and staff

Florida Community Colleges and Public Universities
Current students, faculty, and staff of the Florida Community Colleges and Public Universities are granted borrowing privileges.  Current university I.D. must be presented and verified.

Special Borrowing Permits
Free Special Borrowing Permits are given only to the following patrons.  Supporting documentation must be submitted with the application: 

  • Visiting scholars sponsored by an FSU department
  • Florida government employees (state or county)
  • Federal government employees
  • Staff and students in special FSU affiliated programs

Alumni and Visitors
Alumni and visitors are invited to conduct research inside the university libraries.  Borrowing privileges for alumni and visitors can be obtained by purchasing a Friends of the FSU Libraries membership.

How Long Can I Borrow?

The length of time you may borrow material depends on your current status.

Florida State University

 

  Books Bound Journals Popular
Videos
Instructional
Videos
Interlibrary
Loan
Remote
access to
databases
FSU Undergraduate
Students
4 weeks In-library use only 2 days In-library use only Yes Yes
FSU Graduate
Students
8 weeks Overnight 2 days 3 days Yes Yes
FSU Faculty 16 weeks Overnight 2 days 3 days Yes Yes
FSU Staff 8 weeks Overnight 3 days No Yes Yes
Friends of the
Libraries
4 weeks In-library use only No No No No
Special Borrowing
Permit
4 weeks In-library use only No No No No

State University Libraries

 

  Books Journals Popular
Videos
Instructional
Videos
Interlibrary
Loan
Remote
access to
databases
State University
Undergraduate Students
3 weeks In-library use only No No No No
State University
Graduate Students
6 weeks In-library use only No No No No
State University
Faculty
16 weeks In-library use only No In-library use only No No
State University
Staff
6 weeks In-library use only No No No No

Community College Libraries

  Books Journals Popular
Videos
Instructional
Videos
Interlibrary
Loan
Remote
access to
databases
All Community
College Students
3 weeks In-library use only No No No No
Community College
Faculty and Staff
6 weeks In-library use only No In-library use only No No

 

Media Equipment loan period & late fees
 

  Loan Period Renewals Overdue Fine Replacement costs Allowed borrowers
Headphones 4 hours No 25¢ /hour - Max $5.00 $25 high quality - $3 low quality All FSU and Special Borrower Patrons
Laptops 4 hours No $10 /hour - Max $50.00 $1800.00 Laptop/ $70.00 power cord FSU students, staff, faculty
Canon EOS Rebel Cameras                       48 hours No $10 /hour - Max $50.00 Up to $900.00 FSU students, staff, faculty
Acer Office Projectors 48 hours No $10 /hour - Max $50.00 Up to $500.00 FSU students, staff, faculty
Panasonic HD Hard Drive Camcorder    48 hours No $10 /hour - Max $50.00 Up to $600.00 FSU students, staff, faculty
Sony Digital IC Recorder                            48 hours No $5 /hour - Max $25.00 Up to $60.00 All FSU and Special Borrower Patrons
Flip Video UltraHD Camcorder                48 hours No $5 /hour - Max $25.00 Up to $200.00 FSU students, staff, faculty
Canon Powershot Camera                       48 hours No $5 /hour - Max $25.00 Up to $300.00 FSU students, staff, faculty
Tripod                 48 hours No $5 /hour - Max $25.00 Up to $40.00 FSU students, staff, faculty

Fines are detailed in the table below. After an item is overdue for 60 days, the patron will be charged the full replacement cost of the material.

Fines

 

  Fine amount Maximum Fine
Books .25 per day $5.00
Videos .25 per day $5.00
Journals .25 per day $20.00
Reserve Items $3.00 per hour *$30.00
Temporary library Cards $5.00 if late $5.00

Call Library Fines Management, (850) 645-8822, Monday-Friday from 8 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. with any questions. The office is on the second floor of Strozier Library. When facing the Norwood Reading Room, go to the left.

Library charges can be paid at the Office of Student Financial Services http://controller.vpfa.fsu.edu/Student-Financial-Services/ or at the FSUCard Center http://www.fsucard.fsu.edu/. FSU faculty, students, and staff may pay library charges online at: http://fees.fsu.edu.

 

 

Need more information? Call: 
The Circulation Department (850) 644-1486
X
You will be redirected to the secure CAS login page.
You will be redirected to the secure CAS login page.