Top Right Search Box

OneSearch   |   My Account

2018 Florida Book Awards winners announced

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

With its 13th annual competition now complete, the Florida Book Awards has announced winners for books published in 2018. More than 200 eligible publications were submitted across 11 categories of competition.

The Florida Book Awards, coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries, is the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program. It was established in 2006 to celebrate the best Florida literature. Authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the Florida nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

The Gwen P. Reichert Gold Medal for Children’s Literature, now in its fourth year, was awarded to Miami resident Silvia Lopez for “Just Right Family: An Adoption Story,” published by Albert Whitman & Company. This $1,000 cash award is in memory of Gwen P. Reichert and serves as a lasting tribute to her accomplishments as a rare book collector, nurturer of authors and educator of children.

Also awarded were the Richard E. Rice Gold Medal Award for Visual Arts to Richard Shieldhouse for “William Morgan: Evolution of an Architect” (University Press of Florida) and the Phillip and Dana Zimmerman Gold Medal for Florida Nonfiction to Gilbert King for “Beneath a Ruthless Sun: A True Story of Violence, Race, and Justice Lost & Found” (Penguin Random House). These two category winners each receive a $500 cash award.

Read the full list of winners here:

Learn more about the Florida Book Awards at

About The Florida State University Libraries

The mission of the University Libraries is to support and enhance the learning, teaching, research, and service activities of the Florida State University...